Rise Up


2016:

It has been both the best and worst year. Worse because I hit the rock bottom in each and every sense of the way; personally, socially, academically, spiritually, religiously. Sure I’ve been damaged in too many ways. Sure I have had my bleak days. Bad days. Dark days. Darker days. Darkest days. In a way it has been an year of disappointments after disappointments.

But the best because i couldn’t have learned the things I learned any other way. Best because now I know there is no way but up from here. Best because I know now if I survived that, I can survive anything. Best because even through everything, at the end of the day I’m filled with so much gratitude that my heart is about to explode in utter submission to His expended benevolence. I cannot be anything but thankful. I’ve realised it’s in the process of losing that we gain. But most importantly I learned to notice the collateral beauty in absolute devastation.

Today my heart is swelled with gratitude. For all the things and all the people who have extended towards me so much kindness. For God, who has never left my side despite of countless times I’ve turned my back. Despite of the times where I shut everything down and away. None of it even matters anymore since here I am standing. I’ve wobbled and stammered, fell and shattered but Here I am. Living, breathing and struggling.

Today, I’m proud of myself for making through one hell of an year. And immensely thankful for what I have, especially few friends who have been there for me through all the shit. You know who you are.
___________________

This will be my last post for a little while. I’ve a lot on my plate right now that I need to focus on for coming year. I hope for all of you the bestest year ahead. I’ll come back soon. Thank you for always being here for me. I appreciate it more than words can ever describe❤️

(Daily post: Resilient , Hopeful, Retrospective )

25 thoughts on “Rise Up

  1. sarah says:

    I am blogwalking here (somehow,i thought that I have been here before,idk). Your writing so thrilled, am being positif (am not the only one) now because of It. Hope you too, best luck of the new year. Yes, pain made us gratefull of what we had, what we are. I am glad that you overcoming It.

    Like

  2. Jimi the Phoenix says:

    I’m glad you made it through a tough a year. Your words throughout the past year have often provided me with comfort or inspiration so thank you! I wish you an amazing 2017 and am a little sad you won’t be posting for a while but I’ll be so glad when you’re back 🙂

    Like

  3. khansana1000 says:

    I wish you a happy and healthy new year for you, May Allah heal all the pain and sufferings of the past year and replace it with better things .Pain teaches you something that nothing else could teach you , the level of maturity and depth it gives you, happiness and joys could never rise to that level.

    Like

  4. Prajakta says:

    Happy 2017 and keep up your spirits! I am sure you will be able to heal from the past wounds and keep this hope and gratitude close to you for the coming year 🙂 Many hugs ❤

    Like

  5. Mabel Kwong says:

    Love your positivity to through the hard times, Zee. As Florence and the Machine sang, “it’s always darkest before the dawn”. From the hard times we find strength and you’re standing and writing this because of this. 2016 was also a hard year for me, but I am thankful and very greatful to be a part of it and cherished our heartfelt conversations.

    Best wishes for the year ahead, and hope that you can juggle everything on your plate. Keep trying, keep fighting. Stay safe, be kind, be good ❤

    Like

  6. nataliescarberry says:

    Oh I’m so thrilled to read this! This has made my day my friend. Everything you said here is truth and I’m so glad that you have survived the trials, not just survived but risen above them a stronger person to boot. May this year be one filled with joy and peace and goodness for you. Happy New Year my friend. Love, Natalie 🙂 ❤

    Like

  7. katiemiafrederick says:

    Hello my dear fRiEnd
    Zee.. for about a year
    and A half now or so..
    so happy
    to hear
    that you
    are StILL
    Standing and
    RiSinG out noW
    From dArkNess oF
    BeFore.. sMILes.. my
    friEnd.. the Hells of lifE
    BRinG the greATest liGhts
    from dARk and perHaps the
    beST pARt for those seeKinG and
    fiNDinG Victory over Vengeance aGainst
    tHis Gift oF LIFE and liGht iN Hope and
    Love over Fear and Hate.. is the sympathy
    for otHeRs
    who have
    crossed
    oVer iN
    dARker
    pArts oF LiFe..
    LesSoNs LEArned mY
    FriENd.. LesSons LiVed
    mY FriEnd.. LiGht survives
    iN eYEs thaT NeVer GiVe uP
    noW and sURely you.. My friEnd..
    are one of those very special LIGhts..
    God Bless you and the best of wishes
    from mY famiLY to yOurs aCross an ocean
    that has no
    boundaries
    or liMits.. a FaMiLY
    oF LoVe.. mY FriENd..:)

    Like

  8. trentpmcd says:

    Again, the perfect song for the post 🙂

    I’m sorry that 2016 has been so hard on you. I have seen some of it through your writing, but I can obviously not know how deep your pain has been or how far you’ve gone down. But you are rising up and I know you’ll continue to rise up! Yeah, you’ll stumble again. We all do. But you’ll brush yourself off and continue. You are here, you are alive. And where there is life, there is hope 🙂

    As for hope, I am hoping and wishing you a much better year in 2017! Happy New Year! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Josh Gross | The Jaguar says:

    I’m very proud of you, Zee. Making it through the hard times can teach us important lessons and instill a wonderful sense of confidence. Those benefits will help you achieve your full potential!

    It’s great to follow you, and I hope you have a wonderful 2017! There will be challenges (as always), but you can handle them!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. TheOriginalPhoenix says:

    Best of luck with overcoming your current struggles. 😊 You’re amazingly strong Zee and an inspiration to all your readers. Some lessons have to be learned the hard way but you’re here to tell the tale. Don’t brush that off. God bless you sweetie ❤

    Liked by 1 person

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

