Moon, Ocean and Her

(Weekly Photo Challenge: H2O )
20141021_164701_android-2

She dipped her toes in the water to check the temperature. Today the water was warm, not as cold as the other nights. So inviting. So perfect. Ocean spread in front of her endlessly, her eyes gazing into infinity, catching nothing but darkness and with it moon- lit like the last flame after the candle has almost completely burned.

Waves, oh the waves. She heard them calling her name, in the far distance. Enchanting. Dancing. Welcoming.

She sat on the steep rock, her toes still dipped in the water.

Wind, oh the wind. She felt it embracing her. Seeping into her bones, sending chills down her spine. Hair at the nape of her neck deliciously stood at its touch. Enveloping her being.

But the moon, oh the moon. She looked up, was silent today. She was expecting it to beg and plead. But there it was, as quiet as the infinite space surrounding it. She’d be lying if she said it didn’t hurt her. Moon and her had a thing, or so she thought. Her heart fluttered, her stomach churned as she kept gazing at it, as if somehow it would break its silence. The water was now up to her knees.

“So we are doing this huh. I see. You are not going to say anything? After all this time. Nothing?

Well no problem…I have a lot to say tonight anyways. Or would you rather have me quiet and say nothing?”

The water rose upwards about an inch, from her knees to her thighs.

“Hmmm, so silence it is then.”

She laid back on the steep rock, looking up at the sky. Mapping out stars, in hopes soon there will be one of hers up there among constellations too- hopefully closer to the moon.

The water was soaking her back now, it was rising fast. She smiled, as bright as the moon itself. So heartily that for a moment stars dimmed their lights to let her shine. She knew. She just knew; The moon wanted her too. And that was the whole truth.

In that moment, peace came. A tear as heavy as the gravity itself fell down her face. Carrying more pain than salt in an ocean itself.

The tide came & took her away,
Orchestrated by the moon,
For it wanted her too.
And so that,
It proved.

76 thoughts on “Moon, Ocean and Her

  1. Prajakta says:

    I was almost hoping that the ending was different but then I kind of get it. It’s when you start feeling surreal and you know you belong elsewhere – probably where you can finally be!

    P.S. I will be listening to this song all night.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zee says:

      I couldn’t have said it better myself “it’s when you start feeling surreal and you know you belong elsewhere- probably where you can finally be!” A perfect summarisation of this piece. And I’m so glad you liked the song. I thought it was very reflecting of the whole piece πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. rommel says:

    Zee, I often wonder… I see you as this very happy, jubilant person on comments, but your writing are so deep, flaky, and oftentimes, very dark. I often wonder where you really at? Are you writing relating to others or solely from deep inside of you? You don’t have to answer.

    Liked by 2 people

      • Zee says:

        You have to spill it somewhere Rommel- the sadness, the pain, the sorrow, the angst. So better be it in the form of poetry or words. Even the worst parts become beautiful when it’s poetry after all.

        Like

    • Zee says:

      Aaaah…there isn’t one right answer to that Rommel. Well I’m gonna try anyways, let’s see if I make sense: so the person you see in the comments section is me, sure yes. But that’s more like a remanent of the person I used to be. I wouldn’t say I’ve lost that part of me completely but it’s more or less subsided as an inert part. But it is a necessary part, or else I might risk going insane.πŸ˜‰

      As for the writings, those are as true as it gets. They come “solely from deep within” as you put it. You can say they are parts of me on paper. And when you have all that inside of you, you have to let it out somehow. For which I’m glad I’ve writing. You can Just say, My writings are the deepest parts of me that not many get to see.

      I hope I made some sense there? Or didn’t completely scare you off by now, haha πŸ™ˆπŸ˜‹

      Liked by 2 people

        • Zee says:

          Awh I hope you readjust well and soon and we start to see more of you on blogosphere !πŸ˜‰ thanks for reading and dropping by to say hi ! I hope I see you more oftenπŸ’

          Liked by 1 person

          • Violet says:

            Thanks for your well wishes, as you can see it’s been a bit over a month since I’ve been back, I’m still slowly adjusting back to regular life. πŸ™‚ I hope I’ll be back more often soon!! As always, it’s a pleasure to chat with you here! πŸ˜€

            Like

  3. Akhiz says:

    oh boy, well iv been away from blogging for almost 5,6 months now (since i shifted abroad) and i see you’v been on a roll, so much catching up to do but ill try to read all what i missed. After a long time read and heard something so beautiful about Chanda mamu πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • Zee says:

      Omg Akhiz ! Look look who’s back !! I’m so happy to hear from you after so long. How have you been? How’s the new country treating you? Thanks so much for dropping by. You can take your time catching up, I cant wait for you to read all my work cuz your insight means a lot 😊

      Like

      • Akhiz says:

        Fells good to be back, im gud (hell busy) but coming back was always on my mind. So finally decided enough is enough im coming back so here i am. Yup the country is treating me well so far habibi πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        • Zee says:

          Woohoo. I’m so glad you decided to end the hiatus. Can’t wait to see in my reader from now on. πŸ˜‰also im glad you have settled well in the new country ☺️

          Liked by 1 person

  4. trentpmcd says:

    Ocean and Moon, rivals ever. I’m surprised they work together, yet the tide does belong to both, doesn’t it? So who did end up winning her, silent Moon. aloof but always there, or noisy Ocean with his dancing waves? I was originally going to say that I recently wrote about the Moon, but you already know that, don’t you?

    I loved the story. Such great images πŸ™‚ You do have a way with words πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Mabel Kwong says:

    Another deep piece, Zee. And a very sad one too. “A tear as heavy as the gravity itself fell down her face” is my favourite line. No one can control gravity; it is a mysterious force – as is the moon and stars and sun. It is also how some of us can’t control life around us, and can’t control our emotions sometimes. As much as we want something or someone to come to us, it is not always meant to be :/ Sometimes I feel like that character, sitting around until my emotions get a hold of me and I don’t feel productive

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zee says:

      That happens to a lot of us. Sometimes you just can’t function and be productive. Sometimes you just have to let those emotions take a hold of you, I guess it’s kind of a necessity- To let it all exhaust out of us. We have to shed that burden to move forward. Thanks a lot for reading this Mabel, it’s always a pleasure to hear from you πŸ’žπŸ’ž

      Like

      • Mabel Kwong says:

        We are all meant to feel, and I understand when you say we need to let the emotions take over us, engulf us. It is the only way we can then move forwards… Sometimes we may never really move on, but we can move forwards when we admit we feel something – and journey to better places ❀

        Liked by 1 person

        • Zee says:

          “Moving forward” is too overrated sometimes I feel. Moving forward doesn’t mean you can magically leave things behind, it just means you learn to live with it. As you said sometimes we may never really move on but we can move forward- journey to better things. It’s a long hard process but something that makes us grow as a person.

          Like

  6. Lala Rukh says:

    Oh no. The moon took her away. Or may be she was already away, just her thoughts floating with the waves as reminisced by the moon.
    Love this story. Moon often has connections with sensitive people, people with ‘hearts’ you know.
    Love you.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Zee says:

      Yeah, moon has that thing that nothing else offers. That calm melancholic solitude. When you find nobody else, there’s always moon to keep you company πŸ˜‰
      Thank you lala for reading, hope you are doing good. Much love to you ❀️

      Like

  7. katiemiafrederick says:

    sMiLes.. my FriEnd Zee.. i think it’s worth noting
    that truly Nature as liGht calls to Us sAMe as God..
    welcoming uS Back to
    FeeL more of
    GoD as natUre
    sAMe.. wHerE
    wE orchestrate wiTh
    GoD oF Nature.. colors
    of SonGS and DancE that
    have no limits of going deeper
    Deeper.. iN depth of mInd and BoDy
    BaLanCinG soUl wiTh no Expectations
    but Faith of MoRe liGht to come as liGht
    begets liGht in either Moon or Sunlit ways
    With stars to gaze our gates oF LoVe Freer
    oPen.. WiTh eYes of Free.. and hmm..
    while we are all unique..
    in some ways your
    voice seems
    similar
    to Lala
    Rukh.. i’m guessing
    the first place you ‘saw’ me..
    like Rafiah did too.. and of course
    tHeRe is Prajakta’s place.. and in
    someways my FriEnd.. online
    seems like both
    a large
    and
    sMaLL place
    of Love when given
    and shared freely with
    no doubt and Fear..
    as ‘they’
    say to
    men in terms
    of BaLanCinG LiFe..
    search out the Divine Feminine
    Love and Grace and they say to
    women.. search out the Divine
    Masculine of WiLL and Fearless..
    WeLL.. my FriEnd.. in that way
    you and others
    are my
    Angel
    help
    online..
    as the heARt
    GroWs in Love
    when exposed freely..
    a lesson perhaps.. eventuAlly
    i can inspire more men to take..
    as soon as they are no longer
    afraid of Free Verse mixed martial arts and
    ballet for more than metaphor.. my friEnd.. Zee..:)

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Erika Kind says:

    The story of a life captured in the picture of such an intensive poignant moment. What looks like a romantic scenery gets a such a poignant twist. You wrote that so heartfelt, Zee…. as always πŸ’–

    Liked by 1 person

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

