Do Not Fall In Love With Me

1) I warn you not to fall in love with me. You can’t. You shouldn’t. Just don’t. I’m crumpled sheets, the ones you keep trying to smoothen the wrinkles off of but never manage to get them sleek. The ones that are always creased. The ones that keep slipping off the edge, the ones that never seem to perfectly fit. 

2) Just don’t. Don’t fall in love with me. I’m that air which belongs to neither summer nor winter. I’m somewhere in between. The one that keeps fluctuating. That on some days is as warm and homely as a fireplace while on some is so cold it sends chills down your spine. The one that makes you wonder if ice is just as destructive as fire.

3) I urge you, Just don’t. Don’t fall In love with me. I’m like the moon that is nothing short of beautiful from afar. The one that you can’t help but admire from the shore. The one that fascinates you and even keeps you up at night at times. Until you see how ferociously it pulls the tide. How relentlessly and viciously it drives the ocean crazy. How it seems so thirsty to devour, hungry for madness. Then you run. Then like a scared little kid you stand on the shore as a spectator to its violent frenzy. As it rises and falls, as it crashes and quivers. As it breaks itself on collision with the rocks, shatters itself unaware of how it cuts the rocks sharp. 

4) Just don’t. Don’t fall in love with me. I maybe tender to touch but my heart is nothing short of an amalgam of few too many calloused scars. I humbly request you not to fall in love with me because then I’ll fall in love with you too. And then there are only so many eclipses you can take before you decide I’m too much to bear. Because there is only so much darkness you can stand and the tiring downcast shadow of its existence you can handle before you decide to leave . 

5) You will soon bid me adieu saying you can’t love me anymore and that I’m not who I seemed to be. So please. Just don’t, don’t fall in love with me. 

(List of reasons to why you shouldn’t love me. Written in response to The weekly discover challenge: The poetry of list-making )

The Poetry of List-Making

56 thoughts on “Do Not Fall In Love With Me

  1. plaridel says:

    this reminds me of a quote from marilyn monroe:

    β€œI’m selfish, impatient and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I am out of control and at times hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rommel says:

    Still a whirlwind, still ambiguity, Zee. Back and forth between being humble to being confident, then insecurity to hopefulness, all the way to being afraid for the other person while actually warning it to one’s self. Sorry Zee, you can’t force me not to fall in love with this one. I love, love, love this one …. I triple love this one. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zee says:

      Hahaha your comment made me so giddy! I’m totally smiling right now πŸ˜„

      Thanks a ton Rommel. You always get what I’m talking about πŸ˜‰

      I triple like/love your comment!!πŸ™ˆπŸ’—

      Like

    • Zee says:

      Haha well you have to be alive to get married Charly. Will you make it to the fall? That’s why I keep telling you to take better care ! πŸ˜‰

      Like

      • charlypriest says:

        I think so, is just a couple couple months to go. By the way what is it with you girls and the marry thing, I said falling in love wich doesnΒ΄t equate to marriage. But in your case IΒ΄ll make the exception and marry you.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Zee says:

          Ummm, that’s what ‘YOU’ asked first “when are we getting married” so you brought it up first you old forgetful man!

          I think I’ll have to call off the wedding…πŸ˜’

          Like

  3. Mabel Kwong says:

    Such a lovely write and once again it bringa out so many emotions. I can relate too much to it πŸ˜€ Love how you relate it to the beautiful moon from afar. Zee, you are a great writer; so honest and so beautiful yourself. Love will come round too you 😘

    Liked by 2 people

    • Zee says:

      Oh Mabel, thank you so much for always warming up my heart with your lovely comments!😘

      I don’t know if I should be happy or not that you can relate with it, hehe. Since it makes us both pretty complicated people. But I guess as you said, love will come around when it’s the right time and place 😊❀️

      Liked by 1 person

  4. trentpmcd says:

    Don’t go telling me what to do or not to do, particularly where the heart is concerned! As if a heart ever listens anyway.. ;).A description of a yin-yang Zee with light and dark sides, cold and hot, won’t scare seeking hearts away! Ah, but hidden in number four is the real reason – When someone falls in love with us it is hard not to fall in love back and once the heart is given it is too easily broken 😦 Hearts are not toys to be broken and discarded, yet it seems yours has. I hope it heals soon so it can soar once more!

    On a lighter note and talking about another type of love, it looks like Word Press loves you again. Well, at least they are letting you ping back to the prompt. I hope the problem is solved!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zee says:

      Ah yes that’s true. Heart never listens. But I guess it’s fair to put a warning sign up anyways so no one can blame you afterwards πŸ˜‰ Thank you for your well wishes. Your kindness always makes me feel good 😊

      And Oooh yes thanks to dear Lord the problem is fixed. I don’t know why it happened in the first place and how did it get fixed even (but you were right, lot of my comments on other people’s sites also ended up in spam for some reason 😲 ). I just hope this problem is now fixed for good and doesn’t happen again πŸ™πŸ»πŸ˜”

      P.s Thank you so much for your comment Trent πŸ’Ÿ

      Liked by 1 person

  5. katiemiafrederick says:

    SMiLes my FriEnd Zee.. not sure iF this is auto-biographical
    or fictional.. but as poets do.. often there is a mix of both..
    but what i will say is.. are you sure you are not
    peering over the shoulder of Hurricane
    Katrina or perhaps
    Volcano Katrina
    too.. as you surely
    aptly describe the emotional
    eruptions of a heart that sings strings
    as waves that ravage and tender too..
    and yes.. as some scientists say..
    there are 412 identified human
    emotions that sway in
    great tales
    of life for
    some and
    very little to numb
    in others.. and for me
    at least i’d rather be burned
    by fire and cooled by ice than
    going along luke warm and never
    much excited iN either way of liFe..
    to SinG EmoTioNs up and down
    and to eventuAlly only fall up
    in love and never down
    is quite a challenge
    in a life that
    is often
    confusing
    and so hard too..
    but more than anything..
    more than nothing at all to FeeL
    the extremes of lFfe in EmoTioNs
    and SenSes is so much better than
    noThinG at aLL and this my FriEnd is
    what attracted me to my WifE.. the aliveness
    of her ever changing Hurricane and Volcano
    too.. unpredictable yes.. and always interesting
    too.. as every poet’s heARt.. and Herricane..
    SinGs a Romance challenging and
    worth it to hop uP aboard..and
    yeah.. i fell in love when
    younger.. and
    have met
    other volcanos
    and hurricanes along
    the way.. but it seems that
    there are greater plans than
    human plans alone in mind
    that so much deeper bRinG
    folks toGeThEr in thick and thin
    to SinG Longer a liFe of/for Love..
    anyWay.. my FriEnd this is what i hope
    for you.. a continuing Volcano of Love
    that never ends in down and up way of LovE noW..
    and you kNow it’s so easy for me to Love anyone and
    everyone i FeeL in this life.. as i was in the other place
    of FeeLinG noThing aT aLL.. i value love enough to love it all UP
    and never
    ever
    down aGain
    my FriEnd Zee..
    with love of course
    that only feels uP and
    never down so low
    so
    low
    wHere even
    demons fear
    to tREad BelOw lifE @aLL..
    and what i for one alWays do is
    when love tires of me.. i wait and most
    often it eventuAlly comes back in some way..
    shape.. form or fashion.. as love that never gives
    up no matter Volcano or Hurricane real is Love that lasts
    Longer than the Stars that burn out brighter than Before oF NoW..:)

    Like

    • Zee says:

      That is so beautifully put by you Fred, the ups and downs of love and all the hurricanes and tornadoes that come with it.
      I guess as they say beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder, we see what we want to and we see the beauty in things in which we see a reflection of ourselves, even if it’s a little darkness or hurricane or light or stars!

      I loved your comment. Thanks for always caring to share your thoughts with me. Hope you have a nice weekend my friend !

      Liked by 1 person

  6. liveatjazzmans says:

    Chocolate, the perfect bribe. 5 reasons to fall in love with you. 1. Darkness is a beauty only darkness can understand. Welcome to the Band. 2. Ice is as destructive as fire, power is beauty. 3.To be pulled is to be loved(selfish and all consuming true yet fiercely exciting. 4. Scars and eclipses do not forever hide the beauty before the pain nor the sun or the moon. 5.revealing in time not being what you seemed to be is its own gift for those with eyes to see, heart to love, mind to understand.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zee says:

      Wow!! This is such a beautiful comment ! Made my heart warm. Thank you so much for taking time to read and write this to me.😊

      I appreciate it so so much. I guess we are in the same club. So nice to meet you ! Your comment meant a lot to me 😊

      Like

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

