Lessons Learned

This This This! Deserves a repost because “apparently” the lesson wasn’t learned. I need to re-learn and this time for good. The hardest lessons are learned in the most hurtful ways.

👇🏻👇🏻👇🏻👇🏻👇🏻👇🏻

I learned how easy it is to fall for well crafted words, too easily those words can hook around your heart and dive deep. How easy it is to tumble dry the same old words and use them over and over which our naive hearts end up believing.

I learned there is a reason why sometimes it’s so easy to believe people when they say things. We don’t give words enough credit they deserve. We don’t give words enough importance, we throw them around like shooting bullets hoping some of them would stick somewhere, preferably right in the chest.

I learned how easy it is to toy around with words and let them in turn toy around with our hearts. How effortlessly some people weave around words that hold this immense power to obliterate hearts. What they don’t understand is that hearts aren’t as strong as they seem, they can shatter and break so damn easily.

I learned a lot of things, but the most important lesson learned is to not believe people when they say things. That is the only way to keep yourself from bleeding. The same old measured words are stronger than they seem. And when people like me believe them? It takes us a lifetime to heal.

You can find the lyrics for this song here

(P.s I’m traveling and I’ll be on the road for a week. So I’ll keep trying to catch up but maybe a little late) 

69 thoughts on “Lessons Learned

  1. charlypriest says:

    You´re being a bit of a cynic, you can´t believe everything but you can´t also distrust everything that is said. And words are words, I´ve been called every nasty, pejorative, and denegrating words that there are, I´ve been laughed at the expense of others and all those things they don´t affect me. Who gives a shit about what others might say or think about you, I know who I am, I know my shortfcommings and also my attributes(although those I should probably give them more credit than what I give them), that´s enough for me to live my life……wich who knows how long that might be. I´m pretty much inmune to hurtfull words or actions,

    Liked by 1 person

  2. plaridel says:

    it’s sad that some don’t mean what they say. fortunately, not all people are like that. there are others whose words you can trust. if you keep the latter, you’d be in good company.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mabel Kwong says:

    Such a poignant post, Zee. Trusting and believing others might not always go our way. It can be hurtful. It can be hard because others might just not get along with us and we can’t change their way of thought. Moving along is hard, but with time we get to see there are better things for us 💜

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zee says:

      Yes Mabel. That’s actually the only way to move on. To tell yourself that there are better things awaiting. That’s the only way to tell your heart to stop hurting ( even though it never does stop completely but we can try). We have to believe in better things. Thank you so much for your kind comment 💗😘

      Like

      • Mabel Kwong says:

        It amazes me how your posts always speaks to me, and always so brave of you to share what you share. Sometimes we may never stop hurting but I suppose that’s the way life is and at the very least we can distract ourselves ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        • Zee says:

          Ah yes, that’s the very least we can do. Spill that anguish on paper and hope for it to leave us some day. It makes me so happy to know that my writings ate relateable. Because I feel all we need sometimes is the reassurance that we aren’t alone ❤️

          Liked by 1 person

  4. katiemiafrederick says:

    WeLL.. iT appears.. Zee that i AM
    the first one in 2016.. to hear
    your words heRE and
    respond
    herE
    now.. firST..
    and i muSt say
    that words are most
    certainly powerful with
    Force to heal.. power to deceive..
    power to inspire misery and suffering
    and power to love without hold of fear..
    but discernment is the fire inside that
    hOlds the truth ReNeWeD aWay from
    words as essence iS all that’s
    trUe in liGht oF
    words
    when
    A soUl
    hEars those
    words aS liGht of True..
    SomE soUls heAr more of
    discerning liGht as TrUe.. sOme
    heAr less.. but the key for me alWays
    is any words that lead to fear and hate..
    and harm.. and misery and suffering no matter
    who or what they come from are words of hell
    as there is no other way
    to hurt
    another
    one
    but hell..
    in fear and hate
    away from fearless love
    that is only healing intent and
    purpose to rise liGht instead of
    fAll of dARk mY friEnd.. but sure tHat
    is onLY mY discernment and no rule
    for anyone else.. as the first step to
    hell is
    the word
    that says
    it is the
    last
    my
    FriEnd..
    as essence is free
    and alWays groWing
    in liGht.. any word as last
    is dArkest words oF aLL
    as history
    repeats
    this lesSon
    of humility
    to hUman
    over
    and
    over
    bacK aGaiN..
    the bigger words are
    often the ones that lead
    to hell so dArk on this eArth..
    that essence drOwns in words beFore..
    NOW..
    the only
    place wE
    liVe
    NOW..
    in essence
    TrUe and liGht
    oUr souL sinGs
    aS HeARt.. oF SpiRit
    FeeLinG and eXpreSsinG
    REal.. iN A BaLAnCinG oF miNd
    and BoDy soUL iSREAL iSNOW
    iSreal
    WE noW..:)

    Like

  5. jessannseq says:

    I know this too well I think Zee.You trust people way too much only to end up knowing that they didn’t mean a thing they said.Everyone these days is selfish.Life has become a race where each person thinks about how he or she can win even if it means putting others down along the way.There is no foolproof way to protect yourself but I guess we must learn when it’s the right time to withdraw.

    Like

  6. randomlyabstract says:

    Just found “Pain and I” and then read this. Resonates. You know, I could say it’s well-crafted but let’s imagine you know what magic it has brought. It, the destruction.
    I will say that I love you too much.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. saadia peerzada says:

    Yes, Zee very true. Words can make a huge difference , can create either memories that make us smile or scars that take a forever to heal or else they never do. I too have learnt that words should not be trusted, actions should.
    Also, Eid Mubarak, hope you had an amazing Eid 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. The V-Pub says:

    Zee, I believe that that some words are used with reckless abandon. Some words carry immense power and meaning and if used by a person who is reckless, then they can cut and wound. I believe that people also say things because they believe, or wish to believe that a person is someone who they want, and not who they are. I’ve said words to people too early, and found out later in the relationship that they were not who I thought they were. It’s such a puzzling road to navigate, and we’re better off holding off saying or using words that we may regret later.

    I hope that you are well!

    Liked by 2 people

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Ah that is a great realization Rob, I hope more people would realize that. It holds so true , saying words too early. I get that the life is short and all that but you have to choose words carefully as you said. I couldn’t agree more to the fact that it’s a puzzling road and we all tend to make mistakes along the way. But I guess as long as lessons are learned it’s not too bad as I’ve learned my lesson too.

      I’m doing alright Rob, Thank you so much for your comforting comment
      . Hope your day went well ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  9. trentpmcd says:

    Words are powerful. They can fill us with many types of emotions. They can hurt us. But they can also heal us. It is difficult not to be beguiled by a charming turn a phrase given by an equally charming person. We want to believe, despite the hurt. Yet the scar tissue on our heart says no. But then, there has to be someone whose words you can trust. The words may not be sweetened with honey nor spiced to entice, but someday you’ll find someone whose words are worthy of finding there way into your heart.

    Liked by 2 people

    • lifeconfusions says:

      I hope the very same Trent. Letting people in never comes easy to me and neither am I a good judge of people. So I understand that I get hurt easy that is why I’ve learned not to expect from people. And now I’ve learned another lesson, not to believe people when they say things. Life’s a good teacher !

      Thank you for your comment Trent. I hope you know I really appreciate it ❤

      Liked by 1 person

          • trentpmcd says:

            The soaring you had the other day ended up with the predicted “splat”? I’m sorry, very sorry.

            Not trusting the words around you is a hard way to live. You deserve to hear beautiful words from someone who you can trust, even heart melting words. Anyway, I can’t really say anything better than I said a year ago when you first posted this. Just go back and reread them 😉 I posted this as a reply so it isn’t hard.

            Liked by 1 person

            • Zee says:

              Yea. I’m sorry too. I wrote this one year back and here I am one year after- and it’s just as relatable. Actually much more.

              But as they say, fool me once shame’s on you. Fool me twice, joke’s on me. So can’t really complain.

              It was very comforting to read the comments on this. I re-read all of them again. The reassurances- it was bittersweet.

              Thank you so much Trent for this note.

              Like

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Exactly, but the thing is I’m the worst at judging people. I never know who to trust and who not to trust. I wish I could but I can’t . So it’s better to stay closed…

      Thank you so much for reading and leaving such thoughtful comment for me Judy ❤

      Like

  10. dryousafzai says:

    It is inevitable. We hear what we want to hear and we end up believing it.
    Truth is we had believed those words all along, even before they were said. They had always be a fragment of your imagination.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      That’s true. But sometimes it’s not your imagination. You hear exactly what the other person is saying. The only mistake you make is of believing it when everything else in your body tells you not to. But hey Lesson’s learned so I guess that’s alright.

      Like

  11. Prajakta says:

    I am not sure what has been doing on Zee, but this post touched me. It sounds like a lot of pain and swallowed words. Long back and for a long time I decided to stop trusting. I am slowly learning to believe again and trust me, it feels good. Yes I still get hurt – but that belief makes me connect. With some people who matter at least. Take care!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Ah well that’s the thing, you can never know who to trust or not. I’m definitely not good at reading people. I will take me a long time to trust and let people in because that’s just something that never comes easy for me. Thank you so much for your comment Prajakta ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Courtney Wright says:

    One of the hardest things to be strong against is someone else’s words. Especially when they are an important person in your life… a parent, sibling, spouse etc. Because they are the ones who are supposed to lift you up, love you and know you. So if THEY say it, it must be true?? We begin to believe the things we hear even though we know better in the beginning.
    Stay true to yourself Zee. Love yourself and only speak life over yourself and others. Those words never return void my dear… never! 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  13. Erika Kind says:

    You reached my heart, Zee. I agree that we mustn’t believe what others say… in some way. If they are not total liars they do mean what they say. The problem is, that whatever nice or less nice words they say it is an opinion. It is a subjective picture they have. And you know opionions can change. Our opinion changes too at times and we don’t feel or believe what we did once. But I know what you mean. Some people are just babbling things that sound nice or out of an emotion not thinking that you might take them serious. Because you mean what you say and stand tall for this. It is nice to hear lovely words and we can enjoy them but what we both still must learn is not to identify with those words.

    Liked by 1 person

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

