Photograph

(Weekly photo challenge: Now)

Boundary 1

So I just stood there in the summer rain as it poured away.

And my mind kept drifting to the night before as I sat with your picture in my hand. To tear it away or to keep it for one more day? I know I asked myself the same question the night before. And the night before that and always ended up with it under my pillow as tears rolled down my face and sleep slowly came.

But tonight was different. I felt it in my bones. Tonight I had resolve. Tomorrow the picture will have to go. Tonight I will look at it for as long as my heart craved but it will have to go upon dawn.

So I looked.

I gazed.

I watched.

I raved.

I promised myself that I won’t cry but what could I do goodbyes are hard. So I let stream after stream flow away. Upon your picture they fell over and again. I let it soak in my pain.

So there I was, standing in the summer rain with your picture in my hand, soaked with my tears and now rain.. Without further a due I tore it away, into as many pieces as my hands could make. I let the pieces fall to the ground as they slowly drained along with rain and my heart achingly longed for one last look….

I turned my back.

And walked away.

1

Written in response to Kruti’s Prompt. Please visit her site to check out more prompts

71 thoughts on “Photograph

  1. jessannseq says:

    Goodbyes are the hardest thing to do Zee.It is very difficult to walk away from someone or something that meant so much to you. But sometimes we have to do it to keep your peace.
    I love what you have written.So beautiful and poignant.
    This song is my new fav! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Oh but goodbyes are real and sometimes a necessity, sometimes unwanted, sometimes inevitable.

      And the song is Photograph by Ed Sheeran, it’s a really great song, Hope you will be able to listen to it now!

      P.S These winters do not even feel like winters, still not in full force! 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Carisa Adrienne says:

    This pulled on my heartstrings. I felt my heart thumping harder and louder. This is heartbreaking but written beautifully. When the song first came out I listened to it on repeat. I remember I’d always play it in the shower… So my tears would combine with the water flowing down. It’s a moving song… But your writing here puts the song to shame. I could read your mind and thoughts all day long. ❀️❀️. My love to you always!! πŸŒŸβœ¨πŸ˜‰πŸ˜˜

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Awwwh Carisa !! ❀ you are way too kind, Thank you so much!!! I get so excited to see a comment from you, your insight means so much to me.
      And yess this song pulls so many strings at all the right places… *sigh*
      There is this another song by him "One", I don't know If you've already listened to it or not but this is one of my favorites too !

      Like

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Ah, That was a really sweet way to put it Plaridel. Thanks so much for your lovely wishes and kind words.
      Happy new year to you too, Hope so many better things come your way this coming year πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Mabel Kwong says:

    What a heartfelt written piece, Zee. It is so sad to read, and I can relate 😦 But, on the bright side, at the end of letting go and walking away comes liberation. It is not easy to let go because that moment with something or someone might have been very special and it might have meant the world to us. Rain coming down, that often means sunshine is on its way πŸ™‚

    Love this song. It also reminds me of the song Photo by Ryan Cabrera πŸ™‚ Lots of love your way ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Aah Mabel. ❀ It's always makes me so happy to see your comment pop up in my notifications. Thank you so much for your uplifting words. I hadn't heard the song before, just went and gave it a listen, it fits so well to the post as well! ^_^

      I wish for the sunshine for the both of us. Here's to a great happy new year and much happier days ahead, Cheers!! *big bear hug* ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. katiemiafrederick says:

    Oh.. emotional pain.. same as physical pain in the brain..
    Oh Love.. Oh connection.. yes.. neurohormone
    of oxytocin social connection.. Serotonin trust
    rising.. comfort in Love’s
    eYes warms the
    human
    heARt
    expresSinG
    SpiRit human
    SoUl balanced
    as one with other
    flesh and blood being(s)..
    Oh.. yes.. emotional Pain..
    when flesh of other caring
    leaves.. oxytocin drops now
    along with Serotonin trust..
    the world becomes colder
    yet dopamine expands
    and the search moves
    on for another Light
    in the territory
    that is
    Life..
    First Loves are
    so sweet and
    so bitter when
    they go..
    even..
    second
    and third
    and so on Loves..
    and if we are reAlly
    fortunate that dopamine
    stimulator bRinGs us to
    a place of finding Oxytocin
    and Serotonin.. in our deepest
    Self.. the place of All of Nature
    and GOD as that is all that is
    that truly Lives as
    self when
    awakening
    as uS my friend..
    and sometimes it is this
    cloud of emotional pain
    that bRinGs the LiGhtest
    Love of ALL that is GOD
    Living
    Within
    as US..
    wheRe we become
    the Light of Love
    that no one can
    ever take
    away again..
    and is ours to
    give for more and more
    whether received or not
    from others more..
    Balance
    of LiGht
    is Love
    my friend.. Zee..:)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Erika Kind says:

    That was awesome, Zee! So heartfelt, so poignant. You conveyed the feeling of all the emotions so well. Fantastic! If it spoke directly from your heart I send you big, warm hugs, and loving vibes your way, dear!

    Liked by 2 people

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

