Grow Up With Me

Happy Place

Happiness

“Grow up with me, let’s run in fields and through the dark together, fall off swings and burn special things, and both play outside in bad weather. Let’s eat badly, let’s watch adults drink wine and laugh at their idiocy, let’s sit in the back of the car making eye contact with strangers driving past, making them uncomfortable, Not caring, not swearing, don’t look. Let’s both reclaim our superpowers, the ones we all have and lose with our milk teeth, the ability not to fear social awkwardness, the panic when locked in the cellar, still sure there’s something down there, and while picking through pillows each feather, let’s both stay away from the edge of the bed, forcing us closer together. Let’s sit in public, with ice-cream all over both our faces, sticking our tongues out at passers-by, let’s cry, let’s swim, let’s everything, let’s not find it funny, lest someone falls over. Classical music is boring, poetry baffles us both, there’s nothing that’s said is what’s meant, plays are long, tiresome, sullen and filled with hours that could be spent rolling down hills and grazing our knees on cement. Let’s hear stories and both lose our innocence, learn about parents and forgiveness, death and morality, kindness and heart, thus losing both of our innocent hearts, but at least we wont do it apart. Grow up with me.” Keaton Henson

55 thoughts on “Grow Up With Me

  1. saadia peerzada says:

    That is one of the most touching things I’ve read . Wow, just wow.
    I wish that I had more time to be a child and not have ever wished to be a grown up like I did.
    I love the picture and the post .I always feel like your posts are knitted together perfectly and every word used responsibly. I hope I learn to do that some day.
    Bravo, Zee. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Awwh Thank you so much Saadia, you are so generous with praise. I guess this is what we all do, when we are little all we want is to grow up and be adults but once we do, we wish to be child-like again, without worries and being carefree. That’s the part of ‘Being Human’…

      Thanks again for reading, I appreciate it very much Saadia, Much love ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Prajakta says:

    And I want to do this all with my best friend! We are really not cool with growing up and itching to do it. But now, even managing a Skype session is difficult 😦 How you make me yearn for those moments with your words.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Oh i totally understand where you are coming from Prajakta, the same has happened to me with so many of my dearest friends, this thing called life is really wrapping it’s claw around us. Know matter how hard we try to escape it’s grasp, it has a way to catch us back. Ah, those simpler times…. *sigh*

      Like

  3. stacilys says:

    Oh, that is sweet Zee. Thank you for sharing this with us. It’s sweet, yet a bit sad too. Because it feels like there’s a sense of loss. Like losing childhood innocence and wonder. I guess it happens to all. I mean, how can’t it, living in a world such as ours.
    Hope you’re having a beautiful week sweetie. I’m sure you’re super major busy with school eh.
    Love and hugs.
    🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Hi Staci, Thanks a lot for reading and sharing your thoughts with me. I like the way you interpreted as being a sense of loss there somewhere. I guess in a way we all lose a part of ourselves as we grow up and leave the childish part of us behind. That’s the way this world works sadly. I also liked the way the poet who wrote it made into spoken poetry kind of thing in the video, it’s so apt, took me to another place!

      My week was rocky but I got through thanks to God, I hope coming days are better. And I hope your week was much better than mine! 🙂

      Love,
      Zee ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • stacilys says:

        Ohhhhh, you’re more than welcome Zee. I also liked how the poet put it to film. The visual arts are is a very powerful medium to communicate a message.
        I agree that we often leave child-like wonder and imagination behind. Like somehow we forget to imagine. I guess the hardness and harshness of living in a fallen world has that effect on creation.
        I’m so sorry that you had a rocky week. Exams, I imagine, right? And I’m hoping right along with you that the coming days are better. My week was ok, however I went to be feeling the onset of a bad cold, and sure enough I woke up sick. Went back to bed until 11:15 and am feeling week and tired. Hmmmmm. Oh well, that’s life. It has its ups and downs.
        Love and hugs sweetie.
        🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        • lifeconfusions says:

          Not exams actually, you know other life and stuff and I got sick too. Flu and bad throat, on and off fever. It’s been a hectic week as well. But as you said that’s life. Has it’s ups and downs.

          I hope you feel better and rejuvenated soon! Keep yourself warm if it’s cold out there ❤

          Love and warm hugs your way ❤

          Like

  4. Lala Rukh says:

    WOW. Your words just summed up everyone’s childhood so perfectly. Beautiful… Those days, carefree without any worry, pain, responsibility. When you could do anything without thinking. These lines are just perfect. I am out of words.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Hi Lala, this is so sweet of you. Thank you for your words of encouragement and appreciation. That’s the thing about childhood, all we can do is reminisce over it ,the innocence and without worries ,it’s quiet magical when you look back at those moments, isn’t it ?!☺😇

      Like

  5. Mabel Kwong says:

    Thanks for sharing this lovely poem with us, Zee. I think a lot of us think about these things when we were younger, when our days were much more carefree and everything in the world seemed possible. “Growing up” always sounded big and scary and it didn’t sound fun. In fact, today I still find this phrase scary. Then again, we are only as old as we think we are 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Hi Mabel, I guess that’s the thing about growing up, when we are little all we want is to grow up and be adults but once we do grow up, all we do is reminisce over our childhood, that feeling of being carefree and no worries. But you are so right, one has to be young at heart ! As they say “Growing old is mandatory but growing up is optional” 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  6. katiemiafrederick says:

    Yes.. my friend.. Zee.. beautiful words
    of children who have not yet
    forgotten how to live..
    and i suppose
    it is possible
    to stay
    that way
    with freedom of
    imagination and
    creativity of us in a play
    of life where we are the Directors
    Producers and Actors of Now scene..:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Awh Thanks Carisa, I’m so happy you enjoyed it as much as I did. Did you watch the video? The poet who wrote this poem made it into spoken poetry. I love listening to this over and over! ^_^ ❤

      Like

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

