Storm.

Grid 

Grid
There is something so oddly comforting about the storm. As the trees swing around mercilessly in the air and the pouring rain leaves imprints everywhere. I lay in the dark listening to it uproar, wrapped up in blanket, safe and sound. I guess that is why it’s so oddly comforting; the fact that it’s a raging storm outside and I’m inside safely battling my own inner storms.

Sometimes it feels like my inner storm has manifested itself in more of a physical form. For a change, it’s not only in the inside. It’s there; in its realist form, manifesting itself to the outside world. I want to scream; “see this is how I feel, this is how it destroys me”. I want to scream and let them know.

The rain pours and pours with it the thunder bolts rips the sky open. This is how I feel. Like something rips open my chest with its bare hands.

The leaves rustle as though screaming for escape. This is how I feel. Struggling to find freedom as everything around me does it best to hold me down.

Flashes of lightning illuminates the dark in my room, curtains blow away with the wind and the air becomes chillier with each passing second, so I tightly wrap the blanket around me.

‘This storm’, I tell myself, ‘It too shall pass.’

61 thoughts on “Storm.

  1. Akhiz says:

    storms are necessary, as is pain, like a potter who shapes the clay to make the pot beautiful breaking, bending it, they also shape us, make and transform us into stronger beings.

    Loved the song at the end 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      That was a beautiful metaphor Akhiz, God puts us through all these hardships because He wants us to shape into better version of ourselves. Thank you so much for reading and I’m glad you enjoyed the song too !

      Hope you have a great weekend ❤

      Like

  2. Mabel Kwong says:

    Such a visual post, Zee. You never cease to amaze me at the way you show how we are so like nature and bring out the deepest and darkest thoughts that many of us have and are always afraid to admit. I love the message in this one: in the darkest of times, all we have to do is hold on because the world is turning and there will be another tomorrow.

    It is a struggle to find freedom sometimes because we are held down by elements that we can’t control. In these instances, perhaps it’s best to just hold on as well and know that nothing lasts forever and we will come out stronger through all the storms we weather. Hope you are well, Zee ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Hi Mabel, Thank you so much, your comments always amaze me ! Because you always give me such in-depth analysis of whatever I write, it has a lot of beauty in itself.

      It’s never easy for me to write stuff like this and more than that sharing it. It’s like I’m exposing myself for the world to judge however they want. I’ve slowly become comfortable with it, There is still a lot of stuff I don’t share but I’m on my way to learning to own my writing 🙂

      You’ve such a huge role in bucking me up with your words of appreciation Mabel, so thank you ! ❤

      Like

      • Mabel Kwong says:

        I am truly amazed at how realistically you exemplify emotion through your words, Zee. I’m older than you and I’m still working that out! The hardest things to share are the challenging and hard times. But when we do, it’s often a weight off our shoulders and we can look up to better times ahead.

        Wishing you well this week ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Lala Rukh says:

    As someone rips open my chest with bare hands…. Oh my. The idea of feeling peace as your inner storm takes the shape of a realistic one, out there, is amazing. I most often find these storms frightening, both the inner ones and the outer ones. They are never soothing for me. May be because the outer one can’t seem to be fading the inner one, in my case. Loved your writing. It is sad. And it is beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Hey Lala, thank you so much for your words of appreciation. You are right, storms can be so frightening too sometimes, especially the lightening bolts as they pierce through the air and most probably fall on the Earth. Sends shivers down my spine!

      I hope you had a great weekend,
      Lots of love ❤

      Like

  4. nataliescarberry says:

    You have a real knack with painting powerful and spirited images with your words, Zee. I love storms too and agree that there is something oddly comforting about them. And I love your equating the storms within with nature’s storms for both carry fierce intensity bordering on a measure of madness. It’s has been so long since we’ve had any rain much less a real storm that I loved reading about yours. At least I know that somewhere in the world rain and stormy weather still exists. Have a wonderful weekend, dear Zee. Hugs, N 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Hi Natalie, thanks so much for your words of appreciation, I’m so glad that you enjoyed my post.

      This storm was about three weeks ago, We are getting a bit of cloudy kind of weather but it hasn’t poured fiercely since then. I love rain! I hope you get it at your part of the world too and enjoy the beauty it brings to the nature! 🙂

      Once again thank you for reading and you lovely comment. I hope you have a great weekend too,
      Much love ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Erika Kind says:

    Oh, Zee, yes this inner storm, that tornado, sometimes a little slowing down but when you think you are over it starts again. The turmoil the devastation, and seemingly no control.
    There are times when we are caught in this storm and think it will never end, but it does. It does for sure. Nothing lasts forever. We change, circumstances change, people change… and the storm ceases.
    That fact is so important to remember when it is howling within us. The knowing that there is a light at the end of the tunnel and that the rainbow is already forming gives us the strength to hang on.

    There is a beautiful poem that comforted me this year when it was extremely stormy: https://syl65.wordpress.com/2015/06/28/maze-of-thoughts/
    Much love to you, Zee 💖

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Hi Erika, I agree and I believe in what you said, It does seem like it may never end but it does. It changes you in the process but everything happens for a reason so all that change is to shape us into a better person. I know at times I didn’t feel there was any light or an end to how I felt but it has all become clear to me now 🙂

      Thank you so so much for your uplifting and encouraging words of wisdom Erika. I read the beautiful poem you shared, it is truly amazing ❤

      I hope you have a relaxing weekend ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Carisa Adrienne says:

    Zee..
    This too shall pass..
    I’m hoping you have begun to find some type of peace. You always have such inspiring words for me…

    I wish I had some wisdom for you. I do know there is a silver lining to everything. In my own experience.. I’ve gone through my parents death, a child’s death, my other son was diagnosed with a life threatening disease.. Etc..
    I’ve found a silver lining in each one.

    Finding the silver lining doesn’t mean you are happy it happened. It means you’ve found peace. It means you learned something from all the struggles.

    Zee… I think you are an amazing young woman. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Awwh Carisa, I’m so sorry to hear about your personal struggles, but it makes me so happy to see you standing here so tall and proud and at peace. You are an inspiration ❤

      Thank you so very much for your wonderful words of wisdom and appreciation, I know every struggle we face is for a reason and it shapes us into a person we are suppose to be. As long we keep learning our lessons through these adversities and it helps us be a better person, it's all worth it 🙂

      I hope you have a fabulous weekend ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Carisa Adrienne says:

        ***tears*** thank you : )
        We all have a cross to bear…
        I didn’t mean to make this comment about me.. But thank you for your kind words.

        Zee.. I know your struggles are just as intense. I don’t know them personally but I can tell by the way you have so much compassion for others… It’s because you have dealt with issues that made you realize you want to make sure others don’t feel the way you have.
        You are so beautiful ❤️
        (((((Hugs))))

        Liked by 1 person

        • lifeconfusions says:

          Awwh Carisa, your comment took me by surprise because that is exactly why I do what I do, I want to make sure others don’t feel the way I have. I believe in compassion and kindness and going an extra mile for people, you never know the struggles they might be going through. I know how big of a difference one small concerned sentence can make.

          Thank you so much for your comment, it has made me realize that everything that I’ve been through has been worth it. Lots of love for you ❤

          Like

  7. katiemiafrederick says:

    Well.. my friend Zee.. thIS human storm that you speak of
    that Brews inside of you.. will find calm and kind
    escape from the storm outside your home
    as thunder and lighting pours..
    is an excellent metaphor for
    the place of peace and
    passionate emotions
    of the human
    heart expressing
    a more balancing
    soul of human
    spirit in
    Bird SonG
    Free wHere tRulY WE
    are all sons and daughters
    NOW of tHE BiG G
    of all our our i’s as G..
    THis BiG G.. in our
    i’s IS always waiting
    for US to ALLOW G
    in US to escape
    and Fly
    WitH
    non-guildinG
    winGs over CultURe..
    ReliGioN.. and yes..
    Science too..
    as restrictiOn
    of our
    GOD
    Given
    Basic
    Human
    NatURes..
    And thIs SpiRit
    works in a dimension
    iNside.. beYond time..
    space and distance
    in a dimensiOn
    of InFiniTy
    as we
    are
    the
    UniVerse
    of GOD
    unto
    iTself..
    and GOD liKes
    the vessel that
    houses
    that
    SPIRIT
    to take
    GOD
    Home
    FREE AND
    sHOW GOD A
    BEST TIME OF ALL iNOW..:)

    Like

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Hey Fred, Thank you so very much for your wonderful comment as always. I know this storm will find it’s peace cuz even the worst of storms eventually subside although it might leave a trail of destruction behind. But everything happens for a reason, I believe that. So keeping my fingers crossed for the best 🙂

      Hope you had a great fun filled weekend?! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • katiemiafrederick says:

        So true.. Zee.. NOTHING IS RANDOM IN LIFE
        as what i know.. feel.. and intuit.. more fully as years go
        by.. wHere the darkest nows of Life are the
        brightest leading energy for now
        at a now later..
        i almost embrace
        darkness now..
        in fact i can
        say confidently
        i do embrace darkness
        now.. as just an opportunity
        that will bring me to greater Light..
        some folks are cynical of the Light
        and fearful of the Dark..
        i for one
        am
        Cynical
        of the Dark.. sMILES
        in Loving both the
        dark and light
        as
        REAL
        with endless
        possibilities
        of purpose
        and meaning in life..
        and yes.. with that in
        mind and heARt.. my
        weekends last all now
        long.. but noT having
        to work is just
        the perk
        to make
        all THAT feasible
        in A world that does
        not care what
        human
        beings
        feel… from birth
        to death.. rigging
        cogs in machines
        until they no
        longer
        turn
        a breath
        of Life as
        MACHINES VS
        TRULY LIVING
        FREE NOW AS NOW
        BEING HUMAN FREE.:)

        THIS WILL PASS
        as always
        as change
        is the
        TOP
        bottom
        human
        LiNE..:)

        Liked by 1 person

  8. stacilys says:

    Ohhhhhhh, are you going through a storm Zee? Or is this fiction? I have a feeling it’s personal. I feel for you. I know all too well how storms can be. It seems like it will never pass and that you’ll be swept away by it, doesn’t it? Like you said though, ‘the storm will pass.’ The sun does come out after the rain. And the storms can help to develop character and tenacity. I hope and pray that that’s what this storm develops in you sweetie.
    Have a wonderful weekend Zee.
    Love and hugs
    🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Ah honestly Staci, I don’t even know anymore, if I write fiction or are these personal feelings, Writing them, putting them on paper tends to blur the lines. Because with writing I always write things from deep within but as writers, we do tend to exaggerate don’t we? So I don’t know, I’m still trying to figure out where I stand.

      Thank you so much for your well wishes, I’m crossing my fingers for this storm to fade and clouds to disperse and for a brand new day to emerge. ❤

      Have a fantastic weekend yourself!
      Love,
      Zee ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • stacilys says:

        Ohhhhh, I will cross my fingers along with you Zee. I hope you come through the storm with flying colors, my friend.
        Hope you had an amazing weekend, and that you have a great week ahead. As for me, I’m off to an arts conference in Rio de Janeiro until Sunday. Yeah!
        Love and hugs
        🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  9. musingsbymegha says:

    Powerfully written Zee.. I felt the pain, hurt and the inner turmoil drowning out the sound of the thunder and lightening. I felt this was a small peek into a story I would like to read more about.. Hoping that the storm is long gone by now…

    Liked by 1 person

  10. trentpmcd says:

    Stormy days – they really let you know that you are alive. In your words: “‘This storm’, I tell myself, ‘It too shall pass.’” And it will, but for you just need to watch the light and sound show of the storm. And live.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. charlypriest says:

    This was very powerful little devil. Great description, the reader or at least me can picture in my head the character and what´s going on around her quite vividly. Nice imagery, would be the word? You do know there is light after the storm right?

    Liked by 1 person

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

