Reflection

Weekly Photo Challenge: Monochromatic
Grass

I looked at myself in the mirror, trying to recognize that face which was staring right back at me. I looked harder, trying to catch a glimpse of something familiar… But all l caught were blank eyes pleading at me from underneath the curtains. I think it’s time to walk away from myself, something I do not recognize.

After all, this is where the tragedy of life lies, learning to walk away and letting go of things that were never yours in the first place.

This person in the reflection was gone and I had enough of trying to get it back.

They say everything that is broken, let it be, leave it to the breeze…And maybe someday my broken pieces will come back to me with the wind.

Till then how about you be you.

And I’ll be me.

(*This video represents the harm we do. We harm ourselves when we harm others. It also reflects the re-birth of a forgiven conscience.)

74 thoughts on “Reflection

  1. Akhiz says:

    change is inevitable, its not the survival of the fittest but the survival of the adaptable now, letting go is not easy, but there is always a better tomorrow, i know its pep talk but its the truth….. wonderfully written u always amaze me with ur expression in writing and as always alla click 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Hey Rashmi, Thanks so much for your lovely words of appreciation ❤
      I guess we all at some point in our lives face the hard decision of letting go and move on, some of us are better at it while some, not so much 🙂

      Like

  2. Lala Rukh says:

    Best idea, Zee. Best. Why not you be you, and let me be me. Till the broken pieces fall into place again. Love it.
    Walking away is hard. Once you do it, you never find it hard again.
    Hope you are fine. Love your photo. Never knew you are a photographer as well 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      That’s right Lala, Walking away, especially from a part of yourself, is never easy. For once you have to accept that you have changed and few pieces have gone missing forever. But you also have to realize that new ones will fall into place too, right place, right time.

      And Thank you so much for branding me with a title of “Photographer” , I’m humbled but really I just like to take photos, I don’t own a professional camera or anything of that sorts 😦

      Thanks again for reading and your wonderful comment. Much love ❤

      Like

  3. stacilys says:

    What a great post Zee. I agree. You’ve gotta be you. There’s only one of you. If you’re not you, who will be, right? I want to know Zee for who ‘Zee’ is. I actually just posted a poem yesterday that deals with the masks people wear, so this really hits home right now.
    What an amazing video too. I found it so intriguing how the guy realizes the harm he’s done. How his actions and sin have affected others around him, and how the consequences to those actions go deeper than skin and bones, but right into the depths of a soul. I also find it very interesting how – at the end of the video – he seems to have forgiven himself (his flesh is healed), although he retorts back the cuts and pain that really never did disappear. It makes one ask, “Has he really found full forgiveness?” And how can one find that full forgiveness and complete, unconditional grace and mercy. Much food for thought, my friend.
    I hope you’re having an amazing weekend. I’m off to clean now. Hahaha. So is life – Mess up, clean, mess up, clean, mess up, clean. You get the picture.
    Blessings and much love to you sweetie.
    🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Awwh Satci I love your comments, Did I ever tell you that?! ❤

      I'm so so glad you liked the video and were able to get the same idea and feeling from it that I got. This kind of music goes way beyond the conventional pop culture that I like. There is so much depth and meaning in it which is lacking nowadays in music. Jaymes young is a really great artist ! 🙂

      Thank you so much for uplifting words about the post, I just read your post on the mask a while ago and loved everything about it, the spiritual take on it was fantastic.

      I, myself have some cleaning to do. Room is a mess. And me, being the laziest person in the world, haven't done anything about it ! Lol :p

      Hope you had a great weekend Staci and Hope your coming week is just as fantastic ! ❤

      Like

      • stacilys says:

        Oh yes Zee, the video was amazing. I love music videos that go beyond the ‘upfront’ what we see. You know, the ones that go deeper into the real issues. Have you ever watched an music videos by Nickelback? I love some of their music videos. Very intelligently done, and go deeper on a philosophical level. Also, have you seen the video by Gotye, “Somebody that I used to know?” I would love to hear your take on it if and when you have the time. If you haven’t seen it, you can do so here:
        https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8UVNT4wvIGY (I hope you can get this in Pakistan)

        You are more than welcome, my friend. And thank you so much for appreciating and understanding my poem, “King of Hearts.”

        Hahaha. Gotta love cleaning. I spent most of Saturday cleaning and taking a break, then cleaning and taking a break, etc.

        I had a nice weekend, thanks. I hope you did too.
        🙂 ❤

        Like

        • lifeconfusions says:

          I Haven’t seen Nickelblack videos if I’m recalling right, Will check them out. But I have seen the Gotye one! It was a huge thing almost two years ago, right? That song made it big.

          I listened to more of his songs too, he is a really talented guy. Bronte, Night drive, Hearts a mess are one of the few that I really liked. Too bad not more of his songs made it big. But yeah amazing artist nevertheless 🙂

          My weekend was sleazy as always. Getting some time to rest before my new semester start and the same hectic routine! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          • stacilys says:

            Ohhhhh, new school semester eh. When do you finish school? When does the school year start in Pakistan?
            I must listen to those other songs from Gotye that you mentioned. I haven’t heard a lot of his stuff. Mostly that famous one. I just really liked the music video to that one. I thought it was so intelligently done.
            🙂

            Liked by 1 person

            • lifeconfusions says:

              Oh actually it’s university. It usually starts after 12th grade here. I’m in a 5 year medical program. I’m in my 3rd year now thankfully. Two more to go, aaaaaghh!!

              And yup the video was really innovative, one of a kind indeed! 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

              • stacilys says:

                Ohhhh, yes I knew you were studying medicine. What I meant was, in what month the school year start in Pakistan. In Canada it’s September and Brazil it’s usually February.
                Sorry about not being clear in my question. Oops.
                🙂 ❤

                Like

                • lifeconfusions says:

                  Oh It’s alright Staci… well I’ve semester system in my university so it’s way different than school system. Schools usually start in March, then after summer holidays in Mid-August. But semesters start in March/February and September 🙂

                  Liked by 1 person

  4. katiemiafrederick says:

    When i am a little boy there is no question..
    There is me and Nature and we are ONE..
    When i go to school.. i become a lesson..
    There is a lesson and me are separate..
    When i become a man i go to work..
    There is working working always..
    Well.. all that almost
    Kills me..
    Now i am a little
    boy again.. there is
    no question.. there is
    me.. there is nature and we
    are ONE.. i live again AM FREE..
    There are lessons.. there is working
    and yes.. there is moving.. connecting
    and Creating but without me.. ALL IS LOST..:)

    Hi Zee..
    and one should
    never forget
    ACTION
    connection
    LIFElightLOVE..:)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Mabel Kwong says:

    Another emotional and thought-provoking piece, Zee. Sometimes I look in the mirror and wonder who is this girl…and see that I look tired, tired from doing too much. Agree with you – walking away is the hardest thing any of us can do because letting go is hard, not easy to let go of what we are used to because it gives us comfort. But on the plus side, time heals all wounds and some time down the track often we will look back and realise how strong we really are.

    Beautiful photo, Zee. The water droplets look so delicate 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Hi Mabel, as always your comment is a breeze of fresh air for me. As you said it hardest to walk away, especially from a part of yourself that you’ve been trying your best to get back. But you are eventually able to let go once you realize that you probably changed for the better. And all that you’ve been through in the past has ended up leading you to this one moment, making you a much resilient and stronger person 🙂

      Thank you so much , I’m glad you liked the photo. I love taking pictures after rain, It’s like everything is new and washed and way more beautiful ! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Carisa Adrienne says:

    Zee,
    This is absolutely stunning! You have a way with words that most don’t have. You have a soothing and powerful way of expressing yourself.

    Sometimes when we pick up the pieces.. We find an extra piece that helps us heal. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Erika Kind says:

    Do you remember that Rubik cube? I never could do that stupid cube. When I wanted it being completed I through it on the floor and put it together at it was so supposed to be. Sometimes we need those situations and encounters who help us falling apart because we are ready for a new shape. And that is wonderful once you start rebuilding. Your facets reflect differently and attract new beautiful things. 💖

    Liked by 1 person

  8. wafflemethis says:

    This is amazing zee, the number of times I’ve felt this way. But we have to rise above it and try and move on. Somethings are fixable Somethings are not,the hard part is figuring out which is which.☺

    Liked by 2 people

  9. The V-Pub says:

    Sometimes the beauty in life is slowly watching all of the various pieces of us coalescing into a beautiful portrait. Sometimes the pieces aren’t really broken at all, but they just don’t fit right now. Be assured that they will one day, they all will, and the answer to the puzzle will be beautiful.

    Liked by 2 people

    • lifeconfusions says:

      That was very beautifully put Rob, Thank you so much for your words, reading them always soothes me and makes me believe in better things to come. I guess you are right, maybe the pieces will fit at the right time right place 🙂

      I hope you have a good Weekend Rob ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  10. charlypriest says:

    Very thoughtful and deep. And you better be yourself, I wouldn´t like to walk around life as a fraud.
    Having said that, well it´s actually a bit scary when you say at the end, “Till then how about you be you and I´ll be me” That freaks me out, gives me the shiggy wiggies!!

    Liked by 1 person

      • charlypriest says:

        I will respond to this comment because you put a heart at the end, so this is my response………….. you´re not all that bad little devil 😉 and also, little you´re probably bigger than I am what the hell…. good woman >3

        Liked by 1 person

          • charlypriest says:

            I try my best to be better, plus it´s you the little devil, hard to admit but I like you (not in that sense). And I haven´t even met you in person. And never will. But you´re a great young lady full of potential.
            Now going to see the other comments you left

            Liked by 1 person

            • lifeconfusions says:

              Awwh was that a tear that fell from your eyes while writing this this?! 😥 ❤
              Okay on a serious note, thank you Charly, I don't know about potential but I am a great great great young lady ! 😉 😀

              Nobody can escape my lovely charm and looks, what can I say, I don't blame you ! 😉 😀

              Like

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

