Searching

Connect

Every one of us is searching…for something…or someone…all the time..unknowingly maybe but we are…I think it’s happiness. Whether it is in the form of an object or in the form of a person but we are chasing it. In our darkest moments it is the light of these longings which drag us back to our feet. Gives us a push to move on. To search for what we desire. We are unhappy at the moment so we are running for happiness in the future. Maybe this despair is what makes it so valuable and something to cherish.

Despite of this ideal concept, we are wrong more than we realize. We run and run and run trying to find that one person, that one object, that one goal that we think will make us happy. Maybe momentarily it does makes us happy but soon we realize it is not what we thought it would be. And soon all the glitter and it’s attractiveness subsides and just like that, Again we are left with this despair that we were trying so hard to run away from in the first place.

The truth is we can never be happy until or unless we are happy with what we have today. At this present moment. We have to learn to be content with what we have right now, in our grasp, so close to us rather than chasing something that is so out of reach that we miss what we have close by to us. We have to learn to not chase things in future so much so that we forget today. Running after a future that might not even exist? Doesn’t it sound absurd? This concept that has been brainwashed into our minds, We don’t even know what is going to happen in this next second then how can we allow ourselves to chase after something that maybe years away? Life can end mid-sentence and I know that all too well from personal experience.

We gotta learn and teach our generations to enjoy this moment that actually in all realness exists because it is only ‘this’ moment that is ever going to exist. Everything else is always going to be uncertain, noise and unnecessary worry.

93 thoughts on “Searching

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Absolutely Lynz, We all need to stop for a minute and take a breath and really “see” the important things around us and appreciate them for what they are 🙂

      Thank you for reading and your lovely comment ❤

      Like

  1. Akhiz says:

    i agree with you 100% all our life is spent in searching for something, weather its fortune, happiness, wealth love, pleasure, satisfaction, ambitions ect.

    I once heard someone say that don’t worry about the future, concentrate on your present be happy your future will follow that and will be good. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      That’s a really good line, I guess it’s true. If you focus on your being happy today, the future will just follow the lead 🙂

      Thank you so much Akhiz for giving this a read, It’s always a pleasure when you visit ! ❤ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lala Rukh says:

    Oh so right. So right. I am having the same thoughts on my mind lately. Wrote about it. Happiness. We have lots of definitions for it. We know where we are wrong. We know how we can achieve it.
    But still, why are we not happy? Why?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Alok Singhal says:

    Enjoy the moment we have and feel blessed, for many are still thinking about the past or future and wandering around!

    I agree with above that it is easier said than done…but that’s what experience should teach us (and we should learn from it)!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lala Rukh says:

    That was such a wonderful read by you. You are so right, Now is the time to do everything, to feel everything. Now is the time that is real. The past and future is just in our minds. To live in the present fully is the way to lead a happy life, In my opinion.
    Sending you loads of love 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. shanx says:

    If only it was that easy 😛 It’s like eating that heavy junkie food after working out for days. You know what it will do but then you just have to eat it 😉 (you can shoot me for the example but the rest of examples seemed too heavy 😛 )

    Liked by 1 person

  6. charlypriest says:

    I have another brilliant theory, why are some people always chasing something, a job, love, whatever it maybe. Just live your life, go out find a job even if it´s a shitty one( which I´ve had plenty of them) but I was pretty much happy, except for a little screw up or big, but whatever duuude…. why do people think so much, they over think everything. I want to love, I want to have this or that job, I want to marry, I want to have children, fuck me it drives me crazy. Just live your life and be happy with what you got.
    Me- I´m broke, it sucks, but I have this and that, I just live and survive and that´s life and I don´t over think too much what´s the future holding for me. Just live people. I will say that I may very well end up in jail next year (long story), so better live today and stop bitching about all the other idealistic things you want to come your way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      I don’t think we have a choice Charly, people over-think they can’t help it. The prospect of an awaiting better future has been brainwashed into our minds, which is not always wrong, it’s good to look forward to better things in life and hope but the first step is to be content with today.

      After all how much of ‘more’ is enough? After all There is no real end to human desires.. 🙂

      What you have is very rare, their aren’t many people who have made peace with the choices they have made in life. I think it’s one of the most courageous things in the world to do 🙂

      Like

      • charlypriest says:

        My way of thinking is that I better make peace with the choices I´ve made, good and bad, mostly bad actually. But that´s the past and I don´t look at it often, it will drive me into a depression. So you just keep going and making better choices and just live the present. And enjoy what you´ve got, even though if you see out there people that have more money, have love, whatever it may be. But I am who I am, and I´m quite at peace with that. I would like to change things in the past, but as I said, it´s pointless to think about it since I don´t have a time machine to go back although the past has eventually caught up with me in a big way. So be it. Just deal with the consequences and move on.
        And about a better future, well maybe that can come and maybe not, your choice and your decisions that normally determines that, but even with good choices and decisions it may not come, so back again with my theory. Just live life day by day and things good and bad will come at you, you deal with the bad and then discard them and the good ones, like love (since you seem to talk a lot about it) it will come to you. In the form of……..Me !!!! 😉
        Just try to be happy and live life, you´re young and have a bunch of things to do, and for what I have gathered I´m pretty sure you won´t make dumb mistakes like me, and even though living where you live is probably not easy, you got chances by choices to make it out or stay in, and live the live you want to live.

        Like

  7. Prajakta says:

    As usual, you capture the inner musings and second-guessing amazingly well. Hope is the one thing we have and is so precious. We can keep moving forward so long as we don’t lose sight of our present.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      As Albert Einstein said Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow. The important thing is not to stop questioning. So I guess second guessing and confusions are a part of life. Thank you Prajakta for reading my thoughts and leaving me with your lovely comment ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  8. stacilys says:

    Hey sweetie, great post. I totally believe that everybody has a void in their hearts that is longing to be filled. I used to try and fill it with everything and anything that this world could offer. Than one day I realized that there is nothing in this world that could possibly fill it. It seems like we try to fill it, but we end up wanting more and more and more. It’s never totally and completely filled. At any rate, I’ve written about this before too. I don’t know if you would be interested or not, but if you would like to read my post on this, you can do so here (of course there’s no pressure. just if you’re interested)
    https://stacilys.wordpress.com/2014/02/05/now-is-all-weve-got/
    I love the title of this song you chose for this post, ‘man is strange’. Hahahaha. Yes, it’s true.
    I hope you had an amazing weekend Zee. We have a long weekend here in Brazil. Tomorrow is Independence Day here.
    Love and hugs
    🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Hi there Staci, well that void is what eventually ends up making us feel empty. I guess we just have to realize that no amount of money or worldly things will ever be able to fill the spaces. We,as humans will always be craving for “more”. How much of more is enough after all? Where do we draw the line, The truth is we can’t. So it’s better to learn to just be content with what we have at the moment and then keep striving for the better things in life 🙂

      I read the post you shared, there were lot of answers in it to lot of my confusions there. Like you coming to term being with a woman and loving the perks of it as it came along the way. In short you became content with who you are and everything in life. That was a really wonderful post. 🙂

      And hope you have a fantastic time on your long weekend! We had our Independence day on 14th August ^.^

      Much love,
      Zee ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • stacilys says:

        Ohhhh, what a wonderful response Zee. I really love what you said, “Like you coming to term being with a woman and loving the perks of it as it came along the way. In short you became content with who you are and everything in life.”
        That’s exactly it. I am content with the life I have now. I know where I am meant to be and what I am meant to do at this point in time. I truly believe that I am living what I am meant to live. That I’m in the centre of God’s will for me. I used to have all sorts of crazy ideas of what it meant to be a woman. I couldn’t bring myself to believe that women were any less than men and that men were above women. That is so not His nature. He created us equal I believe. We just have different roles. And within those roles both love and serve each other according to the way we’re wired. I believe that things only get out of control and crazy when it comes to the sexes because we, humans are a fallen people. Argh. Ok, maybe I’m just rambling now. It’s just that I’ve had some strong experiences concerning this issue. Hehehe.
        I had a good weekend, although I felt quite tired. I hope you had a nice and relaxing and fun weekend.
        Have a great week sweetie.
        Love and hugs.
        🙂 ❤

        Like

  9. litadoolan says:

    I love the way your posts teaches us to reach out for peace in a simple and effective way. My favourite lines is ‘The truth is we can never be happy until or unless we are happy with what we have today.’ Awesome post Zee and I love the new format of your blog too. Here’s to Zee x

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Hi Lita, How are you?
      Thank you for reading my words and sharing your thoughts with me. It’s always a pleasure to have you around. I’m so glad you liked the post.

      Thank you for liking the format too.
      Much love your way,
      Zee ❤

      Like

  10. Mabel Kwong says:

    I am so sorry to hear that you’ve been through personal hardship and loss, Zee :/ Another beautiful post again. It reminds me of a quote by dancing violinist Lindsey Stirling who said, “The greatest moment of your life will always be ahead of you.” You are right. Happiness is in the now, when we learn to appreciate what we have. Sure, we might get a kick out of the chase towards the next big thing and what/who we want, but often this feeling is fleeting. Also, sometimes running and running we feel tired and confused, feel like we’re going around in circles. Sometimes the best things in life are right in front of us 🙂 Wishing you a good week next week ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Mabel first of all thank you so much for your extended kindness, I’m so glad to have friends like you around to be there for me ❤

      I think that is what most of us do at times in our lives, running in circles, completely blinded by the prospect of something better that we ignore what lays right in front of us at the moment. We get so busy in making a living that we forget to live.

      I hope your week is fantastic Mabel, Thank you so much again ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  11. katiemiafrederick says:

    Ah.. new friend Zee.. human roads.. sidewalks.. are all roadblocks and dark clouds to human happiness as human happiness is not lined.. it flows in balance as two feet as one.. emotions and senses fully expressed.. regulating and integrating.. in human moving.. connecting.. and creation activity ways..

    Well.. when i look for answers that work.. i look to Nature and forget the culture of the present as all cultures and religions are designed to house and control humans in large societies that they are not naturally evolved to live in.. where at most humans are comfortable with about 150 to 200 sets of eyes connecting and not looking away…

    For hundreds of thousands of years our ancestors are foragers.. a mix of hunters and gatherers who survive by moving invisibly in escaping predator and capturing prey.. and what that means is left and right feet must be balanced as one.. to move quietly.. as quietly as not moving leaves of a Yogi Monk’s rice paper in TAI CHI like way… if you will… or if that does not bring a picture to mind.. imagine walking on thin paper and not tearing it with your feet…

    WE LIVE a life these days mostly stuck in thoughts of our heads.. and all the major philosophies that are written in the world mostly focus on ideals and thinking rather than moving imaginatively and creatively as a first natural step to human animal happiness..

    Move.. Connect.. Create.. sums up three natural ways as one to human happiness..

    For me.. free style dance and martial arts works best.. as it allows me the feedback through my body to regulate emotions.. and integrate senses.. and increase the nuance of emotions.. and senses.. as our vagal nerve carries our feelings from brain to gut.. spreading all around our body.. in an almost infinite number of true chakras as neurons connect throughout our bodies.. but the 7 chakra metaphor is a basic picture of what’s going on when mind becomes balancing with body.. as regulated and integrated force of human being…

    But sitting still meditation is not the way of a forager human animal.. to move is to survive with innate instinct and intuition.. and until we can become comfortable in our own animals skins.. anxiety often reigns.. destroying any possibility for true human bliss in contentment of being what we are naturally still evolving to be as forager for survival and a socially cooperative animal who reciprocates communication.. mostly non-verbal.. and creates to share naturally instead of collecting tools and becoming the tools ourselves.. losing our humanity in human flesh and blood moving.. connecting.. and creating..

    We’ve lost touch with our humanity overall..

    And again.. for me it’s dance.. i’m more emotionally regulated and sensory integrated with enhanced focus and short term working memory than ever before.. and after being diagnosed with what is named Asperger’s Syndrome.. in middle age.. where this cultural meme is similarly expressed on the Big Bang TV show.. as a group of ‘egg heads’ stuck in a head of thinking do so well as actors in expressing the socially awkward difficulties of being out of balance with our human animal instincts and intuitions.. in moving and connecting to each other freely.. and creatively with ease.. with a mind and body in all natural moving.. connecting and creating balance..

    Well.. I for one cure what ‘they’ say is impossible to cure.. on my own.. for me in creative way..

    and although i may not look like i will break out in 4000 miles of joyous dance in the last 2 years in public.. i just do it.. and have documented the whole joyous experience..

    And yes.. it works.. as the smiling faces who dance with me prove
    in irrefutable way.. to the tune of several hundred pictures and
    around 400 smiling faces so far.. that only make
    me smile more.. when i review them in blog way..

    Again.. dance is not the only way to happiness for sure..

    but overall it is a path that humans have been
    using for scores of thousands of years..

    humans move away from this art
    in the repressing Victorian
    age but now it is
    coming
    back
    like a storm
    of naked humans
    dancing around
    a campfire
    in
    moonlit
    bliss..
    simple
    human
    bliss..
    smiles..

    i read this wonderful post.. like it..
    and think about how i will respond
    during an intense workout of ballet like
    dance.. and martial arts.. at my military
    gym.. and this my friend Zee
    is what comes
    from that
    real flesh
    and blood
    experience..

    And no.. there are no lessons and
    instructions for me.. it is all free style..
    in my opinion lessons and instructions
    are just more blocks to true imagination
    and creativity in an art of dance for life..:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Hi there, Once again I’m so humbled by your comment, thank you so much for taking time to share your perspective on you life and our search for happiness. I’m truly impressed by your insights. Whatever works to make you happy as long as it does not have a negative effect on fellow humans. There was such vast concept in your words, I appreciate it so much that you took your precious time to write this.

      Thanks a lot, I hope you are having a great week so far and continue to do so, with your dancing shoes on 😉
      Much love,
      Zee.

      Like

      • katiemiafrederick says:

        Hi there2 Zee.. i’ve been doing this freeLY as a joy of life online
        since the Summer of 2013.. and for some reason
        and i INUIT AS feeling.. MOST people who
        seem to hear me are from Pakistan
        and India.. Egypt..
        perhaps i am
        born in the wrong
        place.. as i am
        invisible
        where i live
        except with mostly
        the younger crowd..
        but my spirit of dance
        in life is genderless…
        ageless.. religionless
        ONE race of US..
        nationless.. truly
        it is human
        my friend..
        and if i can
        do something
        to get the world
        to dance as a Universal
        Language of Love Free with
        the Spirit of Human
        Cooperation greater
        together i will
        aim higher
        and higher
        and just
        do it..
        always
        now..
        as tHere is
        no positive effort
        in human eyes or
        ears that is too small
        from the little disabled
        boy who waters a sapling
        tree as his greaTest joy
        and a young shy man
        and brave young
        woman meet
        later after
        the boy’s
        death. ‘we’
        can call
        him ‘Aylan’
        for NOW..
        and this couple
        is so inspired by the
        beauty of this tree
        that college educated
        tree scholars suggest is
        one of a kind.. THAT the
        young shy smart man
        falls in love with the
        brave woman..
        and eventually
        the young man inspired SO MUCH
        by this woman’s Love and the
        kind love of all teachers and
        parents who make him the
        strong soul he is now..
        becomes a great
        political leader OF WORLD
        and makes a decision
        and ACTION that saves
        the world from
        sure destruction..
        SO who is the savior
        of the world.. THE Tree..
        Aylan.. the brave young
        Woman.. now wife.. older Man..
        THE parents.. the teachers..
        WELL truly as always the
        ENTIRE TREE OF LIFE
        IS THE savior.. and when
        WE as leaves branch
        out and connect
        instead of falling..
        or fall and rise
        again AS beautiful
        new trees we
        ALL save the
        world ALWAYS
        NOW AND LIVE
        IN EACH OTHERS EYES..
        i don’t know you friend but
        i Love you.. and i often think
        why is that so hard.. but
        i FEEL BETTER BY
        JUST LOVING
        FOR NO
        REASON
        AT ALL..
        BUT
        LOVE..
        sMiles..
        there is no time
        too small or too large
        NOT
        TO LOVE
        EVERYONE
        SAME AS LOVE..
        and you have
        a friend forever
        now.. God willing..
        with no strings
        attached
        but
        Love..
        as you my friend
        prove you can
        hear me..
        smiles..
        so in other
        words i’ll
        be back
        some
        more..
        as time
        now goes
        on..:)

        Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      That’s true Judy, it isn’t easy when the whole world is literally pushing you into a life that is all about attaining something better than what you already have, One can easily miss out the blessings in the present moment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  12. James Fielden says:

    Dear Zee:
    I think the pull we feel, the desire and compulsion toward happiness is an innate and intuitive drive to develop ourselves spiritually. It exists in anyone who has the ability to love. It’s as if each of us possesses a fundamental knowledge that there is something more, something wonderful waiting for each of us, but we try to satisfy this drive by consuming things, situations and relationships, seeking out stability and happiness in our external life rather than in our interior space. I agree that it is better to accept what we have and be thankful, but simply being content is not enough… that feeling of being unsettled and needing something more is in of itself an invitation to strive and search and open to finer grades of love. Perhaps so long as we learn along the way that happiness is a choice and not a possession, the urge to strive for something more will serve us well.
    Peace,
    James.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Hi there James,
      I really liked reading your perspective and thank you for taking some of your precious time to share it with me. I really liked the way you presented the outlook to being happy. As you said we should probably look for happiness in “interior space” rather than exterior. For which the first step is learning to love ourselves . I agree that this feeling of wanting “more” can be our reason for striving for better things as long as we keep it in check and balance and don’t let our desires foolishly throw us into whirlwind of chasing things and forgetting about the present moment too.

      Once again thanks a lot for your comment,
      Zee ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Erika Kind says:

    I agree, Zee (what else… lol)! I think one of the main problems also is that we are seeking for happiness outside. But whatever is outside is unpredictable and never fits our inside world 100%. We need to understand that real happiness is something that comes from within. It is an aspect of love and love is what we are made of. So happiness is part of our Self. As long as we try to find happiness in things outside of us it will never endure, only what we have within endures and can never be lost. We cannot lose ourselves. But we can activate our own happiness, spread it, and affect others.
    I think it is important to live in the present moment, but still have dreams and visions to go for. We shall not live in the future but make steps today towards goals that we want to become a future present. Sorry, long comment… but once it flows, it flows. Big hugs, Zee 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Awh Erika ❤ I love your comments, long or short, You have so much wisdom in your words I'm humbled that you find me worthy enough to take your precious time and share them with me 🙂

      I agree with what you said, We have to find happiness within rather than looking for it in the outside world, And I think the first step to finding happiness within is to learn to love yourself. If you can learn to love yourself and all the flaws, you can love other people so much better. And that can makes you so happy 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  14. trentpmcd says:

    There is one who is always with you, who shares everything. That is yourself. The happier are with yourself and the more you like yourself, the happier you will be at any given moment. Of course, there is also the realization that being happy all of the time would be boring which would make you unhappy – a contradiction of sorts. So the first three steps of true happiness are to like/love yourself, to be content with what you have even when you are pushing to become a better person and, third, you need to understand that life is a roller coaster, with its ups and downs and you will never be happy all of the time, and perhaps not even most of the time, but other emotions are just as important. So we will all go on searching, but sometimes it’s great to sit back and reflect how good things really are right NOW.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      As always there was so much wisdom in your words Trent. Like really, my words fall short compared to how wonderfully you put things into words which I was trying to say. The three steps of happiness you mentioned were so accurate. I always read your comment twice or thrice and even more to truly let every word you say settle. I’m really thankful for this 🙂

      Reading it reminded me of a piece my R.M. Drake, “I know how you feel when you’re alone, lying on your bed, looking at your phone as if it’s meant to bring you peace from all the demons tugging at your head. you ask yourself: who in the hell will love me? and you should always remember how no one will, not ever, unless you love yourself.”

      Liked by 1 person

      • trentpmcd says:

        I’m just another one of these silly humans muddling my way through life, but with a little (a lot!) more age than you, perhaps I’ve come up with some ideas for answers of questions you are asking. Not sure if my ideas are better than others, but I’m glad they speak to you 🙂 That is a very nice poem by R.M. Drake, and true.

        Liked by 1 person

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

