One Upon A Time

Thank you Maria for writing this with me and helping me with my blues.
_

Once upon a time, there was this girl:
Young and wild and free.
Her heart on her sleeves.

Once upon a time, there was this night:
Cruel, unkind and unseen.

This girl had this thing called, 2 am blues.
The night brought with it sadness, pain and suffering too

And this girl who was young, wild and free,
Lost it to the darkness that screeched.

This darkness was darkest than the darkest of nights.
The girl struggled to find her sight.

She cried and wailed to find her way.
But the night was unkind is least to say.

This darkness was thick, and black, and red.
Red for the blood that was shed.
Black for the thoughts it contained within itself
Black for the pain that from her body spread.
Black, the gates of heaven were.

This darkness was thick; no screams were heard.
She lay on bed praying for help
Black, the rivers from her eyes became.
Black, the forest in her sight became.

Darkness, darkness was everywhere.

She tried to drift away to Neverland,
But the ghost of darkness fetched her back.

No help came, came no savior, no protector
No God, no friend. No foe, no rescuer.

The ghost of darkness then scratched her skin
From its sharp nails of metal, it did its sin.

It was no longer a matter of when, how or what
All that remained was the last door shut.

The night was adamant on taking no prisoners.
It wanted to devour what was within her.

Its sharp nails dug so deep in her soul,
Taking a heap, and she was no longer whole.

She withered and winced so in pain,
Cried and cried, endlessly, in vain.
But there was no one to listen, no one to help.

As the night took her piece by piece.
The girl slowly drifted away.
And soon lost herself along the way.
The night was unkind is the least to say..

63 thoughts on “One Upon A Time

  1. jessannseq says:

    A very deep and meaningful poem.I absolutely love the way you guys have written this.I can fell the pain you’ve written it with and I hope all that goes away soon.I’m always here for you,anytime you need me.You’re a very strong girl Zee.Everyone is allowed to have their moments of weaknesses but don’t let this break you.’Coz you’re one amazing person.You have the ability to make your reader feel what you’re feeling through your writing and I think being so honest and open is what I love about you. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. litadoolan says:

    You work is so deeply felt Zee. You have an infinite heart and a beautiful imagination that let’s things go with magic. Your journey is fascinating. With all your intelligence you are bound to be heading for yet more awesomeness. I am one of your fans who is cheering you on.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. stacilys says:

    You must be feeling deep emotions. I’m sure you have been hurt, but that must be the outcome of a beautiful vulnerability. I’m so sorry to hear of your blues, my friend. If I could, I would take them all away. The night is a rough time too. When we’re down, and it’s dark, and we’re all alone with our thoughts – that’s when we ponder and go deeper and cry harder and feel more.
    Zee, please take good care of yourself sweetie. And I really mean it. If you ever need to ‘unload’ or if there’s anything at all I can do for you, please let me know ok.
    You have openly and transparently bled in this post. Thank you for that.
    Big hugs,
    Staci ❤

    Like

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Wow Staciiiii, your words were so touching and truly heartwarming for me to read ! I can’t believe that I found such an amazing person as you around to help. Thankssss a ton for being here with me and all your hearty words filled with love. You have no idea how much I appreciate it. Like it made my day ❤

      I'm so glad that there is someone who understands. I can't thank you enough for your extended kindness. I really am Staci ❤

      I hope your week so far is going fantastic and it goes that way ahead too. Much love and big hugs,
      Zee ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Erika Kind says:

    Wow, Zee! That was amazing. You totally caught me with every line more. It pulled me in and I was thrown back about 10 to 13 years when I was at my darkest place, ignored, manipulated, isolated, humiliated, and felt completely lost. The nails which dug deep into the soul. Cried, adn cried endlessly in vain… and in the end I had to make the decision to break down or break out… Great, Zee!

    Liked by 1 person

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

