If Only

If only I could tell you,
I’m much more than what I appear.
I’m much more than what I lead on.
I’m much more than bones and skin…
I’m much more soul.

If only I could tell you,
How the walls are strong and standing,
But everything inside is crumbling apart.

If only you knew…
I wish you’d knew,
I love so much yet show so little.

There is so much inside waiting to explode.

I wish some day I would explode,
Into the sky,
And become one with the Stars.

If only we understood,
People are not what they seem,
There is so much that goes inside there fickle weary hearts,
So much to say…
So little said.

If only you knew….
I have never been what I seemed.

63 thoughts on “If Only

  1. jessannseq says:

    I think this poem beautifully conveys how afraid we are to let people in to see how we truly are.To put on a brave self outside even though we are breaking inside.You are awesome Zee!
    Love you :* :*

    Like

  2. stacilys says:

    Ohhhhh, this is great Zee. There’s something so empowering and so liberating about being vulnerable and real. Not an easy thing to do for so many people, and unfortunately many do get hurt by being so. However, when we can be vulnerable and open up and be the real ‘us’ around those that will accept us and in a safe place, there is freedom in that.
    I like that song too. I must make sure I check out more music from Gabrielle Aplin. I have never heard of her before.
    Oh, and yes, I would loooooooovvvveeee that chocolate bar for my thoughts (like you’ve put above before the comments). Hehehe. If only it was possible to send one virtually eh. Like any girl, I love chocolate. I’m sure you do too.
    I have a feeling I’m going to like following you, my friend. It’s so nice meeting new friends and i believe that is what has just happened. Yeah (happy dance 🙂 )
    Hugs.
    Staci
    🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Oh wow, First of all Thank you so much Stacilys for your wonderful comment!

      Expressing your feelings and putting yourself out there is never easy, but once you find that acceptance it’s definitely very liberating and empowering but it’s a long way to go , at least for me. I will be there someday hopefully 🙂

      Gabrielle Aplin is a really great singer, if you wish you can check two more of her songs that I’ve shared here on my blog. No need to check out the posts, you can just listen to the songs if you wish. She is a singer worth listening to 🙂
      https://lifeconfusions.wordpress.com/2015/05/12/i-promise-to-touch-you/

      https://lifeconfusions.wordpress.com/2015/05/08/nature-and-love/

      And here’s a chocolate bar for you ~hands a bar of dairy milk~ 😀
      Thank you so much for visiting Stacilys, do come back for more chocolates, we will eat them together ! Hehe

      And I hope you know feelings are mutual, I’m more than happy to come across such a positive and lively spirit as you ❤

      Much love to you,
      Zee ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. laughtermedicineforthesoul says:

    Your poem caused tears to spilled from heart through my eyes. It spoke to my soul, as if it was written just for me. Indeed so much left to express. I told one of my girl the other day, “After my journey ends here, they will yet to discover who I truly Am, so I will leave them a journal, so they will not feel guilty then. Thank you again for sharing this beautiful post!
    Thank you also for liking my post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Oh thank you so much for your beautiful comment. The idea of a journal for your children to read later is perfect. That way you leave a part of you behind with them and they will get to know so much more about you that you weren’t probably able to express before. Expression is never easy. I hope you and I both are able to master it before we leave this world to tell our loved ones how much we love them 🙂

      Thank you so much for reading the post,
      Much love your way,
      Zee ❤

      Like

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Yes exactly, this world seem to run on assumptions these days rather than facts. People would rather assume a completely imaginary thing rather than asking you about the factual thing 🙂

      Thanks so much Alok for reading and leaving a comment for me 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. charlypriest says:

    Very nice Zee. But you know what….. I actually do know who you really are. It´s a mixture of psychopath and you are pretty good looking so we can say you´re a good looking psychopath. That lures her prays with her smile and then slits their thought.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Akhiz says:

    aaah what beautiful lines, so true so relateable.. there is so much inside waiting to comeout but words are not enough sometimes to justify the true meaning of those feelings, and when someone understands them fully this when true magic happens.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Yup, world needs more of this magic I’d say 🙂
      A little more considerate, a little more kind, a little more compassionate 🙂

      Thanks a lot Akhiz for reading, Been a while! So glad to see you around here, Hope you are doing well 🙂

      Like

  6. Mabel Kwong says:

    Love this piece of writing again, Zee. Opening up to others, we are vulnerable. We give part of ourselves away and hopefully they don’t laugh at us. Opening up to others, we trust and trust is a beautiful thing because it brings people closer than ever before 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Yes, you are right Mabel. Trust is a bond that feeds on strength and being there for each other. It is indeed a very powerful and beautiful thing and it’s basically a blessing to have someone where you can be ‘you’ without any judgments passed. Everyone deserves that kind of person in there lives ! 🙂

      Like

  7. Prajakta says:

    And when someone manages to get inside and peek in? That overwhelming feeling is unmatchable. It’s difficult to open up, but at times it’s okay to swing across the line.
    Try it Zee. Be strong ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      I know. It’s a really great feeling to connect with someone or anyone who understands. It’s like you finally feel understood…
      And I will surely swing across the line once I find someone who is worth swinging for 🙂

      Thanks a lot Prajkata for your comment ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  8. trentpmcd says:

    Beautifully worded, Zee. I think we all feel that way but are often so wrapped up in ourselves that we forget others are that way too. We are so, so much more. And I do know you are so, so much more because you write those beautiful words and let us have a very small glimpse of what lies beneath the surface 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Erika Kind says:

    We hide so much inside. That results often in the belief that we are the only one feeling and thinking what we feel and think, since others hide it too. But as soon as only one opens up, the others follow in awe that they are not alone. I experienced that when I had my breakthrough and stopped hiding. I wasn’t laughed at or criticized. But people opened up and were liberated to get the permission to open up too. The song is great in its message, Zee.

    Liked by 2 people

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

