Beneath Your Beautiful

Sure I love her eyes and the way she smiles but that’s not it. I’m more interested in what lies beyond those eyes and that smile.

Sure her deep brown eyes with a tinge of honey seem like stars have found there home in them but when I look inside all I see are stories of how she survived. Stories and stories after stories of her bruises and scars and I get invariably lost every single time.

Sure her smile is the most beautiful I’ve ever seen on anyone’s face but I’m more interested in how her smile tells it all, of what she is feeling inside. When she gives a half-smile that doesn’t reach her eyes that tells me something’s wrong. How she gives a shy smile when she is feeling all giddy inside. My favorite is when she throws her head back and laughs that’s the moment I know she is genuinely happy, that’s when I see her truly leave her pain behind and for a moment is careless and free.

Sure I love her visual beauty but I love more of what she is from the inside…. beneath her beautiful skin.

42 thoughts on “Beneath Your Beautiful

  1. stacilys says:

    Oh this is so sweet. And so true. And beautiful Zee. Sometimes you can meet a person that is physically attractive, but their character makes them ugly. Or you can meet someone that’s just average, or plain, or nothing special to look at, but their character makes them beautiful. Beauty is not just skin deep, and you’ve betrayed that lovely here, my friend.
    πŸ™‚ ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. saadia peerzada says:

    Can I just say that this is too TOO TOOO good for words! Wow, Zee, Wow , I love it so much.
    You are so so good at writing, I can never write the tiniest fraction of that. This made me smile huge : ‘My favorite is when she throws her head back and laughs that’s the moment I know she is genuinely happy, that’s when I see her truly leave her pain behind and for a moment is careless and free.

    Sure I love her visual beauty but I love more of what she is from the inside…. beneath her beautiful skin.’

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Oh Gosh, stop making me blush Saadia, Thanks you so much for all the praise. You write so well yourself, always making me happy with your positive outlook ! Thank you so much for this amazing comment ! ❀

      Like

  3. Himali Shah says:

    Sure I love her visual beauty but I love more of what she is from the inside…. beneath her beautiful skin.

    This line won my heart !!! True love is what looks beyond the external beauty ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The V-Pub says:

    YES! True beauty radiates from within, and the nuances generated are so much more endearing than the physical beauty that fades. Beautiful words, Zee. The song is perfect for your thoughts. πŸ’—πŸ’—πŸ’—

    Liked by 1 person

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

