Cigarettes & Smoke

Weekly Photo Challenge: Symbolic
Darken

I watched the cigarette smoke dilute in air as I took another puff from it. It made me think of how everything in life has this tendency to dilute and disappear; people, things, feelings. Everything eventually dissolves into nothingness. How everything is finite. Meant to end sooner or later. Yet we cling on; to a person, thing, love for our dear life. Like it’s meant to bring us peace. Like it will save us from the finite nature of life. We become addicted to all these things, like I’ve become addicted to this smoke that slowly fills up my lungs, warming up my airway as I slowly exhale it out and watch it make patterns in the air, momentarily celebrating its freedom as it dances giving its last final performance and then disappears, never to be seen again. This smoke will probably kill me, I know that yet I cling on, maybe because it gives me an illusion of peace, of escape. The same way we cling on to a person, thing, love whatever provides us with illusions. Life isn’t any different from a cigarette and it’s smoke. We know it’s slowly killing us, yet we get so lost in people, things, feelings, watch them slowly take our pieces away as we slowly dissolve into mortality of life. It’s a two-way sword. Either way life is gonna kill us then why not let it destroy us, why not self-destruct, why not let the smoke take over. Why not go down in flames as we reduce to ashes. As our bones turn brittle, skin wrinkles and our memories fade… Like smoke. We savor it for one last time and just like that the darkness takes over.

Note: This post by no means encourages or promotes smoking.
Cigarette Smoking May be Hazardous to Your Health.
77 thoughts on “Cigarettes & Smoke

  1. jessannseq says:

    This post made me think about life.Especially the line “we get so lost in people, things, feelings, watch them slowly take our pieces away as we slowly dissolve into mortality of life. ”
    It’s true how we cling onto people or things so much that we fail to see we are losing ourselves in hope that it makes our life much better.Love the use of the metaphor Zee!

    Like

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Jesssss !! โค
      You are back !!! I got so excited seeing your comments in my notification!! Thanks so much for reading my posts, I'm so happy you liked what I wrote ^_^

      How was you weekend?!! โค

      Like

  2. preetixd says:

    Its so deep. The metaphor, how you are connecting life and smoke, so thought provoking.

    “Either way life is gonna kill us then why not let it destroy us, why not self-destruct, why not let the smoke take over. Why not go down in flames as we reduce to ashes. ” These lines, so apt.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. krysiakorsak says:

    Thank you so much for dropping by my Blog. I love what I have just read…deep, thought provoking, very apt imagery. Think I will be reading a lot more of your beautiful writing! Indeed…life is an illusion and we get so caught up in it…and all the duality that abounds…trying to stay awake and aware is a second by second work in progress! At the moment I am having to be very selective as to what gets my energy and time throughout the day. Having had 6 children I have always been busy, but now, a little time spent feeding the soul has become necessary…in fact is much sought after…ah well, I will keep trying! And no attachments, nothing material can bring contentment, they are but tools along the way…enjoy and embrace the week! Take care… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Oh wow, thank you so much Krys for your such a thoughtful comment. I’m always taken aback when someone is able to make so much out of something I write and is able to relate. Thanks for sharing your life experience with me. I guess we all learn along the way. I wish you all the best in life and much more happiness !

      You are always welcome to visit my blog, it would be such a pleasure to have you around and have your thoughts about whatever I write. I’m so glad we connected, Can’t wait to read more from you.

      Lots of love,
      Zee โค

      Liked by 1 person

  4. umanigith says:

    A little dark and yeah the truth about bad relationships like smoking tends to kill you slowly. You don’t realise it till its too late.
    Funny to see how many people actually thought you smoked ๐Ÿ˜‰ you managed to fool quite a few..hahaha.
    I have always been inspired by the different creative things you do on your blog. So I have nominated you for the Inspiring blogger award, am not sure if you have already received the same but this one’s from my side ๐Ÿ™‚
    Check out the post @
    https://chroniclesofvi.wordpress.com/2015/06/05/the-very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Hahah, yes, it made me realize I should not underestimate my ability to write, Thank you so much for reading. It’s a pleasure to see you around here. Hope you and Vihaan both are doing great.

      I will check out the award. Have an awesome week ahead โค

      Like

  5. Ana Linden says:

    Nice comeback post, Zee! I couldn’t agree more, we hang on to people and things, to that illusory security they provide, when in fact we need to become more able to accept the finality of everything. Human nature, I guess ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mabel Kwong says:

    I don’t smoke – and I don’t think you do to – but the analogy between smoking and life you made there, Zee. Wow. It is so true and your words touched me so much. Life is certainly like smoke from the cigarette: “Everything eventually dissolves into nothingness.” Where there is a beginning, there is always an end, and the end of end usually means disappearance and the birth of something new altogether. Sometimes we cling on because that’s where we derive hope from, where we derive a bit of positivity. Darkness will take over at some point, but where there is darkness, there will be light at some point once again. Wonderful piece of writing, it made my weekend so much better ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      You are right, I don’t smoke but as a writer I tend to get bit imaginative especially because the post had to be about symbolism. It’s a sad truth of life that everything good and bad comes to an end. It’s not pretty but you gotta live with it with a dash of positivity it gets easier I guess.

      Thank you so much Mabel for your lovely thoughtful comment as always. So glad to see you here on my space ! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great Sunday โค

      Like

      • Mabel Kwong says:

        And you certainly used your imagination well, Zee. It is so true that everything comes to an end…and that brings new beginnings and sometimes better things come our way. Being positive is always the way to go as it gives us hope and allows us to dream ๐Ÿ˜€

        Hope you have a good week. Lots of love and hugs right at you ๐Ÿ˜€ โค

        Like

  7. Erika Kind says:

    Yes, Zee is back! That is an interesting metaphor with the smoke. Everything in life is perishable. It doesn’t mean that everything kills us. Some things we have to let go otherwise they “kill” or simply hurt us. But that doesn’t mean they were harmful. They came into our lives for a reason in order to show or to teach us something. There are no accidents in this perfectly organized universe. Whatever happens definitely happens for a reason. Sometimes the lesson is not (only) in the receiving but inthe letting go.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Oh you changed your Gravatar and blog name ! I almost didn’t recognize you there. Good thing I looked closely at the photo ๐Ÿ˜€

      Thanks so much Lmg or Jimi? I don’t know what to call you anymore ! Lol

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jimi Fuchsia says:

        Hey Zee
        I actually just started a whole new blog as I felt like a fresh start.
        I thought you wouldn’t recognise me but I’m glad you did.
        You can call me Jim now, lol!
        I prefer it to Lmg and its easier to pronounce than my real name ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        • lifeconfusions says:

          Your new blog looks wonderful. Why wouldn’t I recognize you? You are one of the first people I’ve met when I started blogging. I can never forget you no matter what the circumstances ๐Ÿ™‚

          And Jim sounds lovely ! Cheers to the new beginning ! I definitely need one in my life ๐Ÿ˜‰

          Like

          • Jimi Fuchsia says:

            Awww Zee your so sweet โค
            You're one of the first people I've met through blogging too, that was so long ago!
            I feel like new beginnings are sometimes very necessary. If it's what you need, go for it ๐Ÿ™‚

            Like

  8. viveka says:

    My mum had been smoking in over 65 years when she stopped … she said it was the best thing she ever done … she got 4 smoke free years.
    I never smoked … but I will advice you to stop smoking … and you will find a world full flavors and fragrances. Love you entry!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. trentpmcd says:

    Stop smoking! Now! I know, easier said than done – I smoked until i was 25…. It’s a great analogy between the elusive nature of things/life and the smoke. The impermanence of it all.

    Liked by 1 person

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

