Get Drunk

Always be drunk.
That’s it!
The great imperative!
In order not to feel
Time’s horrid fardel
bruise your shoulders,
grinding you into the earth,
Get drunk and stay that way.
On what?
On wine, poetry, virtue, whatever.
But get drunk.
And if you sometimes happen to wake up
on the porches of a palace,
in the green grass of a ditch,
in the dismal loneliness of your own room,
your drunkenness gone or disappearing,
ask the wind,
the wave,
the star,
the bird,
the clock,
ask everything that flees,
everything that groans
or rolls
or sings,
everything that speaks,
ask what time it is;
and the wind,
the wave,
the star,
the bird,
the clock
will answer you:
“Time to get drunk!
Don’t be martyred slaves of Time,
Get drunk!
Stay drunk!
On wine, virtue, poetry, whatever!”Β 

– Charles Baudelaire

40 thoughts on “Get Drunk

  1. plaridel says:

    when i read the title, my first impression was, oh, no, not zee, becoming an alcoholic. then i read the poem and it was good. i also liked the way the lines were designed to look like a wine glass.

    Like

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Woah I didn’t even notice that pattern, but now that you mentioned I took a look again and it certainly does seem like a wine glass, Nice observation Plaridel !! πŸ˜‰

      Haha, don’t worry about me being a alcoholic, I don’t drink..Thanks for the concern though, heh! πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. litadoolan says:

    What a roaring call to our senses to seek out new experience. Thanks for such a stunning evoking powerful poem. This part for me has a super strong hit

    ‘everything that speaks,
    ask what time it is;
    and the wind,
    the wave,
    the star,
    the bird,
    the clock
    will answer you:’

    Bravo!

    Like

  3. charlypriest says:

    Very nice, youΒ΄re a great writer, did I tell you that? You impress me when you write like this. ItΒ΄s uplifting also, since quite a lot of times is quite dark what you write yet you express yourself very good.
    Get drunk on wine, poetry, life…….. think I have covered all those basis. But IΒ΄ll do what you tell me IΒ΄ll get drunk but on Scotch on the rocks instead of wine, it is Friday, so party marty Friday, weeeeehaaaaaa! πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Hi there Charly, I didn’t write this one, It’s a classic, I just shared it, the name of the poet is also mentioned in the end but thank you for the nice comment. And believing that I could write something like this.
      Cheers to the freakin’ weekend, drink to that! ~clink~ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  4. rommel says:

    Good word! That’s a really nice share. I love being drunk, high and addicted. πŸ˜€ … I actually did feel the buzz while reading this. πŸ˜€

    Zee, about that collaboration post. I really did consider you before. You were just on your hiatus. I couldn’t think of anything to add to what I started. I just thought you could do it for me. I need a talented poet like you.

    The middle line and/or end line is …
    “Why you chose the sea
    Instead of me?”

    What I always wanted is a boy-meets-girl-story start. Maybe met at a dance (or maybe anywhere easier for you). The woman was very hesitant whether to get involved or not. I want for the guy (to at least sound) to be the one narrating.

    They eventually got into a relationship. The woman telling the love-dovey story/stories on this one.

    But after a long while, one of them suddenly just chose the sea instead of the relationship.

    It’s not really the sea in its literal meaning. JUST so you can have an idea, I have to reveal to you that I wanted for the sea to represent something big…. maybe a journey, a goal or a mission… or a passion, an addiction/obsession … or something from a past that he/she had to deal with. It’s like jumping in a pool (a sea) of a long-time passion, or a big life’s opportunity. But, I do NOT want that in the poem. JUST letting you know so you get the idea.

    I know it’s to awful to bother you with this. This has been in my head for a very long time. But I got none. I can’t come up with anything. I had variations of that line, but that exact line is what I officially want. You don’t have to rush. And if you do not want to do it, just let me know here on your blog. If you have any question, let me know here on your blog.

    You do NOT reveal this, JUST giving you idea …. It’s the guy who left. ….. That IS HIS line ….. And the girl is just reading it, which in a way … she’s the one saying the line in the poem. Complicated, eh. πŸ˜€

    So …
    Intro and middle:
    Boy-meets-girl. Girl was initially hesitant. (As told by the guy)
    Insert “Why you chose the sea instead of me?” (optional)
    Eventually they get involved. (the woman speaking)

    And then just suddenly insert at the end …
    “Why you chose the sea instead of me?” (I want ambiguity on who said this line. And that what the sea represents is not revealed.)

    I have some beach photos ready to accompany the poem if you are able to do this. If none of this worked out, it’s all completely, COMPLETELY fine.

    Liked by 1 person

    • rommel says:

      Ow … I want it in a way that anyone who reads it knows that it is the guy who is narrating “the meet” and it is the girl is telling a “lovey-dovey story”. Then there’s ambiguity on who said that particular line.

      Liked by 1 person

      • lifeconfusions says:

        Roooommmmeeeelllllllllllllllllllll !!!!!!!!!!!! Count me in ! I love this. I’ll shot you an e-mail with everything, the questions, the answers, the queries and everything.
        Let’s not reveal too much here. This is going to be Epic ! πŸ˜€

        I will mail you soon the reply to this πŸ™‚

        Like

  5. bert0001 says:

    Baudelaire roamed our streets, more than a century ago … he must have been someone like Gorden Sumner (Sting) … I followed their paths, a while, until it stopped giving me any satisfaction .. these days I would like to try out mushrooms … but the pharmacist doesn’t want to cooperate.

    Like

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

