SHE

I looked at her from across the hall…she was sitting besides the window, sunlight touching her flawless face, her dark brown hair loosely hanging from her shoulders, her hazel eyes gazing somewhere in the distance from out the window, one hand beneath the chin and one hand twirling something between her fingers- That beautiful creature, I sighed.

This is all what others saw, to be honest at first I did too. After all her beauty was remarkable. But this wasn’t it. There was much more to her than just a pretty face. As I watched her lost in her own thoughts, all I saw was someone who deserved nothing but unconditional love. What I saw were her scattered pieces and a tide that occasionally rose in her eyes, she was trying so hard to hide. All I saw was how she was silently screaming to be fixed. As the sunlight kissed every inch of her hair, soaking into her skin, lighting every pour on her face, I envied it, at least it was closer to her than I have ever been.

I didn’t expect her to let me in…All I wanted was to sit with her, hold her hands in mine, somehow take her pain away. Oh how I wished to just reach inside of her, hold her fragile soul delicately in my hands, nurse it, give it all the love it needed and even more. Shelter it, heal it. Even if it meant giving her away pieces of me to make her complete. I wanted to touch her face and watch it get flushed with color. I would make her complete even if it meant disintegrating myself. I would break myself to fix her brokenness. I would do anything for her. To be with her.

Maybe someday.

Today I’ll just keep looking at her from a distance like so many other times I have. Marvel in her beauty inside n out. Think of ways to love her the way she deserved. I was like a man who loved the ocean but was afraid to swim. And she; The waves; crashing my heart mercilessly, with each passing day.

56 thoughts on “SHE

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Thank you Akhiz, It’s the fear of trekking in an unknown territory that is love, that seem to hold us back always. The fear of getting hurt, the unpredictable nature of feelings and everything in between..
      Thanks for reading 🙂

      Like

  1. Evolving ruminations says:

    Fantastic imagery Zee ! I could see and feel every bit the man struggling with his love. I especially love this line : I would break myself to fix her brokenness – it just stirred up my soul.
    The post is enough to leave anyone speechless!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Wow, THANK YOU SO MUCH for this. It is very encouraging to have you say that about my writing. So kind of you. Thanks for reading this post and I’m glad I managed to convey the feel I was going for.
      Much love your way ❤ 🙂

      Like

  2. yprior1 says:

    okay – so this was heavy and deep – and wonderful. and whew – that video is a teary one zee – also, it paired so well with your words – you are a great writer Zee….

    Liked by 1 person

  3. maryam191 says:

    Lost in those beautiful lines, my heart just skipped a beat. This one , ” he loved the ocean but was afraid to swim”, speaks volumes. Most men are like this, afraid to drown in the feeling of love.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Wah, Thank you so much for your wonderful comment Maryam. I guess to some extent we all, as humans, are a little afraid to drown in that feelings of love. It’s, as I said in one of my previous posts, visiting realm unknown to us before. It’s unpredictable…thus the fear..

      Liked by 1 person

  4. randomlyabstract says:

    Somebody here knows very well on how to create images that stay… The colors: sunlight touching her face, hazel eyes, dark brown hair loosely hanging from her shoulder, etc.
    Also, “Oh how I wished to just reach inside of her, hold her fragile soul delicately in my hands, nurse it, give it all the love it needed and even more.” More so, “I wanted to touch her face and watch it get flushed with color.”
    I love the way you write and the lyrics go really well with this. Unbreakable… just the effect!

    And not to forget the feeling in ‘maybe, some day…’ because one is afraid to swim… Oh well. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  5. The V-Pub says:

    A beautiful way to describe it, Zee. ” I was like a man who loved the ocean but was afraid to swim”, or a bird with wings, but afraid to fly… All it takes is that first step….

    Liked by 1 person

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

