Smoldering

“It was the best of times, it was the worst of times.” — Charles Dickens, A Tale of Two Cities

When was the last time that sentence accurately described your life?

I don’t know who wrote this poem, I read it somewhere I don’t remember, a while ago and loved it. I think it’s quiet fitting for an extreme tale so sharing this today as it describes a part of my life quiet accurately. I hope you’ll like it as much as I did.

Smoldering
One bridge remains
Unscathed
It awaits your return
I guard it closely
Watching memories
I wish to forget
Gathering
on the other side
The other bridges
Lay silent
Destroyed
as I move on
Putting distance
between Me
and my Past
Time is short
the Memories gather
Looking for a chance
to Wash over me
Drag me back
I want You with Me
but
I will go on alone
the last Bridge
Smoldering…

-Unknown

37 thoughts on “Smoldering

  1. PsiFiGal says:

    I like this poem a lot, memories can be a blessing or a curse… It’s cool they used the metaphor of burning bridges too, maybe one of your readers will know the author.

    Like

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

