State Of Despair (Philosophical Musings)

“Several times I asked myself, “Can it be that I have overlooked something, that there is something which I have failed to understand? Is it not possible that this state of despair is common to everyone?” And I searched for an answer to my questions in every area of knowledge acquired by man. For a long time I carried on my painstaking search; I did not search casually, out of mere curiosity, but painfully, persistently, day and night, like a dying man seeking salvation. I found nothing.”
― Leo Tolstoy
25 thoughts on “State Of Despair (Philosophical Musings)

  1. Mabel Kwong says:

    Another meaningful quote from you, Zee. We don’t have all the answers in the world, so perhaps that’s why we never can fully understand something. It’s frustrating, but I also find it funny that we want to know the answers to everything. A little mystery never fails to spice up things. A little mystery means things ahead are unknown, that anything really is possible 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Thank you so much Mabel. You are right, it’s frustrating not knowing everything but at the same time it’s the chase that makes it so unexpectedly awesome! 😉

      To keep us hoping it is essential to have a little mystery, Thank you for sharing your such positive thoughts with me. Always so great to find your comment ! ❤

      Like

      • Mabel Kwong says:

        To keep hoping, it means there will be mystery and with it always comes the chase. Always good to chase within our limitations – it’s always a chance for us to learn something new 🙂 ❤

        Like

        • lifeconfusions says:

          Absolutely Mabel.. Never let go of a chance to learn something new. Expand one’s horizons ! ^.^

          Always nice chatting up with you. Hope you had a great weekend. Wishing you an awesome week ahead ❤

          Like

  2. PsiFiGal says:

    Whoa Zee… that’s deep… it’s going to take some time for me to process that one. Like Tony I’m going to have to read some Tolstoy. Totally off topic-do you like my new avatar? It was time for a change 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tony Single says:

    Much of what I was going to say has already been said by the people above me, and more eloquently than I might have managed. Despair is a strong emotion, one that I have experienced more often than I care to think about. Joy could be considered its opposite, and is present in despair, like hairline cracks in an all encompassing dome. I can see light bleeding through those cracks. Surely one day that dome must give? Glad you shared that quote with us. I really should read me some Tolstoy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Haha, To be fair when you were writing your comment, other comments were above you so technically you were right, no worries 😀

      I liked the way you put it ‘Like hairline cracks in an all encompassing dome’ cuz it sure feels like it. Somtimes suffocating but just enough to breathe and keep us alive. But yes we can hope one day this dome will give away to our persistence ! 🙂

      Here’s to hoping! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Akhiz says:

    i think we always remain in a constant state of despair always searching for happy moments, that makes happiness so valuable and important to us and when we find those moments we cherish them and our whole life is spent running to catch those moments…. for me i have to be alone to assess and ponder and each time it teaches me something as i ponder on….. this is a wonderful section you have and i am inspired by it thank you for sharing these good things, even i am thinking of starting something like this on my blog 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Oh yes feel free to start a section like this on your blog ! I for one would love to read whatever you will have to share.

      And I guess you are right, Everyone of us is searching…for something, someone…all the time..unknowingly maybe but we are…I think it’s happiness! Maybe this despair is what makes it so valuable and something to cherish. 🙂

      Like

  5. Swoosieque says:

    I find it amazing that someone who I thought of almost as a literary deity could sink into despair, but, then I remember that most artists, the classic ones, all teetered between the brinks of genius and insanity and most did suffer from depression.

    Before I began taking anti-depressants, most writings (which I never published online) were filled with great passion and emotion.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      I guess you are right, To say and feel stuff like this, one needs to dig deep, In darkest part of ourselves. I started writing when my depression started. So it is my source of writing. I would have never discovered that I could write had I never gone through this phase. Probably that is why a part of me afraid to lose it…It gets really complicated ! *sigh*

      Liked by 1 person

      • Swoosieque says:

        Believe me, I totally understand. I often think, to myself, that I have lost my passion since I started taking anti-depressants. My writings, pre-blogging, were deep and I received many compliments. I kind of miss being able to write like that, with such passion.

        Liked by 1 person

        • lifeconfusions says:

          Exactly, Passion is THE word. I never thought someone would understand this feelings I have but I’m glad to know that i’m not insane to think like that. I don’t want to loose this passion I have but on the other hand I do want to get better. It gets very complicated.

          Like

  6. weight2lose2013 says:

    I tend to stay alone when filled with dispair. I try to use in creative ways, because the emotions can be powerful. Staying with my dog helps, because no matter what turmoil may be happening, he is always happy to be with me. I hope all is well, Zee. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Hey Rob, Thank you, I’m doing good just a bit busy with new semester and these feelings come n go, Just trying to deal with them. I do like to paint or write because it clears up my mind and I desperately need it most of the times, to clear up my thoughts. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. jojogjoy says:

    in moments of dispair “I need to be alone. I need to ponder my shame and my despair in seclusion; I need the sunshine and the paving stones of the streets without companions, without conversation, face to face with myself, with only the music of my heart for company.” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

