Loathe…Adore? Same thing…I Guess NOT !

Loathe…Adore, same thing right? No? I don’t know why I ever thought ‘Loathe’ means ‘Adore’. I didn’t even bother to check the meaning and just assumed that it means adore.

Time_wasteThere were so many times when I texted my friends ‘Loathe’ thinking that it meant adore “Hey I loathe you so much” even said it to their face at times. Now I know why I got this reaction from them. It’s a wonder how I never got bitch slapped.
877425Coming to the story of how I came to know that it didn’t really mean what I thought It meant, One time while surfing on the internet I came across this article about Madonna, where she was on a panel and some journalist presented her with a bouquet of special kind of flowers (I don’t remember the name of the flowers now) and she was caught on camera and audio saying ” I loathe these *flowers* ”ย to her fellow sitting right next to her.

I remember thinking to myself, “So? Why is this a big deal if she said that. It’s a good thing. Why is this given negative publicity?” Then it hit me. I opened the Google search engine and typed ‘Loathe meaning’ and there it was:ย feel intense dislike or disgust for.ย My hand and feet went cold, my mind revised all the times I used this word in front of people to show them how much I apparently ‘Loved‘ them….apparently not much!

a842c097f98f3119783b4bab91e21abfcf2c333db23b841ef7634c1600e68700
And then I went through 2 phases:

Denial:
michael-the-office-noAcceptance:

bang-wallOr plaster my face in some mud:
ed-bang-head-oOr against whatever I find:

giphyAnd then bury my head in a pillow and….DIE !
tumblr_ml6bqrfcyC1qfssceo1_500

Written in response to today’s daily prompt, inspired by true events but exaggerated a bit….or a little too much! ๐Ÿ˜‰
41 thoughts on “Loathe…Adore? Same thing…I Guess NOT !

  1. rommel says:

    Oh my gravy! Yikes! This is so hilarious, Zee. I know I’ve been there. But I think you had this one the worst. ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜† Loathe = Adore. At least you learned its meaning now before you had children. bwahahaha ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Haha niiceee make fun of me…and thanks for questioning future of my future children too ๐Ÿ˜› lol
      Thank you Rommel. The only good thing that apparently came out of this whole debacle is how people seem to enjoy my misfortune(in a good way) ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  2. Mabel Kwong says:

    Oh no, Zee! That must have been embarrassing for you to not know what loathed really meant for so long! But then again, loathe and love sound similar, so I think many people thought you meant love ๐Ÿ˜€ I love all those headbanging on the wall gifs. I think of banging my head on the wall when I accidentally wear my T-shirt upside down and don’t realise it until I come home at the end of the day… ๐Ÿ˜€ We’re all human. We make mistakes and have all these embarrassing moments!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Daamn this wearing shirt the wrong way used to happen to me so many times in my childhood ๐Ÿ˜›
      Thanks God not anymore ๐Ÿ˜€ Would love to hear about some of your embarrassing moments someday too ๐Ÿ˜€
      Thank you so much for your lovely and uplifting comment Mabel โค

      Like

      • Mabel Kwong says:

        Hahaha! Actually embarrassing moments don’t happen much to me…or maybe I learn to laugh a lot when it happens and laugh it off, until it becomes fun ๐Ÿ˜€

        I don’t see the point in bringing others down. Sure, we can always give a bit of constructive criticism in a non-aggressive way…but positive comments always give us so much more confidence ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Courtney Wright says:

    Oh Zee… honey! That is such an embarrassing thing. But it happens to people all the time and will most likely happen again in your long life! *sigh* but you can use it as a positive moment when it happens to someone else. We all make mistakes and sometimes it helps us relate to someone who is beating themselves up over something they have done…. “Oh you think THAT’S bad, let me tell ya….” You did a great job of owning your booboo! Just learn a really great word once a week and make sure you know how to use it properly! You will blow someone’s sox off one day because you not only knew the word, but how to say it in a sentence! LOL! ๐Ÿ™‚

    ps do you know perpetuate?

    Like

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Hey Courtney that is such a sweet advice!These moments do make up for a good story that’s for sure… ^.^
      I do kinda learn new words..maybe not everyday but every other day. Though I should make a habit of checking up the meaning because I always assume the meanings, 98% of the time I’m right about my guess but once in a while (like the time in the post) I get it wrong n have to pay the ultimate price of embarrassment ! ๐Ÿ˜›

      I’ve heard the word ‘Perpetuate’ does it mean ‘to start something’?!But don’t know the exact meaning though ! ๐Ÿ˜›

      Like

  4. PsiFiGal says:

    Oh you had me smiling and laughing and then the meme with the cat, “what the fu…” oh, you got me Zee! I am the one in my family that always mispronounced words or used them incorrectly, much teasing endured… I loathe you! And I would loathe a chocolate bar too ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Hey Mary, First of all it’s so good to know I managed to bring a smile to your face ! ^_^
      Also I’m a little relieved that I’m not alone in these blunders ๐Ÿ˜›

      I ‘loathe’ you too and yes here is a virtual chocolate bar for you โค ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

  5. HugsxHeart says:

    Ooooh that must have been awkward for your friends to hear and they probably thought: What have I ever done to her to deserve all the loathing *sobbing*. I’m really glad that you check it up but you really described the feeling through the GIF’s which made me laugh! Awesome post Zee โค

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Haha, Hey don’t start sobbing just yet ! you have still got to here many of my other blunders ! lol

      Thank you so much Nad, I’m glad to have made you laugh through my obviously exaggerated story ๐Ÿ˜› โค

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Laura L. says:

    When I read the daily prompt I was uninspired. I couldn’t think how that could possibly make for a good post but then I read yours. I spit-laughed coffee at the monitor. I normally don’t like animated gifs, and certainly not a whole row of them but in this case… perfect. And I may have to steal the wt… cat one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Hey Laura, First of all my apologies for getting your monitor wet with the coffee, hope it didn’t cause much damage ๐Ÿ˜› Next time you might wanna read such stuff without any liquid in your mouth lol

      On a serious note, Thank you so very much for reading. I’m glad to have made you smile despite of your unliking for the gifs ๐Ÿ™‚ I really appreciate you taking time to comment.

      Love,
      Zee โค

      Like

  7. Akhiz says:

    FIrst of all this is hilarious, when i was little (5,6) i heard this word “nonsense” and began using it in almost every sentence that i spoke, my parents told me its meaning but i refused to accept it as it seemed cool to me to say it….. now that i remember those days i laugh at those silly times that what was i thinking ๐Ÿ˜›

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Mara Eastern says:

    Ok, this took me some time to get — I’m so dumb I didn’t realise that you are responding to the daily challenge about a word you misused! Also, that’s classic… You made me laugh! I loathe you.

    Like

  9. Tony Single says:

    You rock. Why? Because it means I’m not the only one who makes AWFUL mistakes like this! I’m going to get you a pillow for when you bang your head against a wall. Why? Because you’re being way too hard on yourself! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Haha Awh that is so kind of you Tony โค
      Get me a pillow and an ice pack for after I'm done ! ๐Ÿ˜€
      I do have to admit, I exaggerated it a bit to give it a more comical touch. Would love to hear about your shenanigans too ! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

