Random Acts Of Kindness

I was strolling in the park when a little girl with a huge smile passed me by. She was jumping up and down, belting a tune and plucking flowers from the ground, with her delicate hands at the same time. She was wearing the cutest polka dot frock with a bow in black which perfectly complemented her curly brown hair swaying in the air as the sun rays poured all over her face.

The spring had almost started to sprung. I could already see beautiful flowers blossoming on the trees and ground. Rows and rows of flowers were aligned across the entire park. It was like someone had splashed colored paint but in a perfect symmetry. The flowers seemed to have filled this grey and dark world with color. Pleasant smell of lilies and jasmine lingered in the air which was unmatched by any branded perfume be it Kelvin Cain or Christine Dior.

Wooden benches were placed strategically along the entire boundary of the park. A young couple was sitting on one of the benches hand in hand, giving each other looks of love and lust. While an elderly couple sitting on the bench adjacent to the one with couple, were looking at each other with such affection that could melt even the heart of ice. An evident contrasts existed between the two generations.

A slight nudge on my arm brought me back from admiring the nature around me. There was no one in front of me. Now a nudge on my right leg, I looked down and there she was, little girl I had seen moments before, looking at me with her big round eyes and longest eye lashes I’ve ever seen on a girl in my life. Now that she was standing so close to me I could see the innocence dripping from her face. She had chubby pink cheeks and lips curled up in an infectious smile which had ability to light up the whole world. I was awestruck by her beauty.

She had a bouquet of flowers in her hands which she made from all the flowers she had collected and extended it to me. I gave her a confused look. Her eyes now opened wide and pointed towards me which implied that those flowers were for me. I took it from her hand, bent down and gave her a big kiss on her cheeks. She hugged me tight and said “Don’t be sad”. I was flabbergasted by her implication. She gave me a huge smile which made me forget about everything else. And ran away humming that tune she was singing earlier.

I just stood there caught in the moment. The smell of flowers flared my nostrils and tears started to well up in my eyes. My mind drifted back to a text message my friend had sent me most recently. Out of the blue she sent me text saying “I love you and I just want you to know that”. Nobody had ever said that to me so randomly. She and I have never even met in person. It made me feel loved the same way that girl made me feel today. I think in a way no matter how hardcore we are from the outside all of us need to be feel loved from the inside. Love, the most innate need of a human being.

By now the sun had started to set. Sun seemed so close, a blob of reddish orange color, I could almost reach up and touch it. Orange light of setting sun lined up the skyline of New York skyscrapers as birds flew towards their homes. They made stunning patterns on the sky as they moved ever elegantly, pushing through the air. I felt my lungs inflate with the on rush of scenery- air, mountain, trees, people and I thought, “This is what it is to be happy”

Darkness had almost encased the sky, now only the faintest light left on the skyline about to disappear at any moment. A blood relation is not necessary to feel loved. Some random acts of kindness have the ability to change hearts. “Kindness Is A Virtue”, There is a reason why it is true after all. I realized I was still holding the bouquet close to my nostrils. I was too engrossed in admiring the show of nature around me as life went about and hustle bustle of the city continued around me. There was a strange calmness in the air. I decided to make my way towards my apartment with the bouquet clutched firmly between my hands and heart enriched with love and peace. We can never obtain peace in the outer world until we make peace with ourselves. As it is said :

“ To be at peace does not mean that you are amiss of every storm, it only means
that you can find a calm within the storm”

In response to Today's daily prompt
41 thoughts on “Random Acts Of Kindness

  1. Mabel Kwong says:

    Zee, this was such a lovely read – the descriptive words and the story. Very touching and I could see the whole thing play in front of my eyes like I was watching a movie. What a writer you are, I have to and want to learn from you 🙂

    Kindness always comes when we least expect it. I believe that we are happy when we are comfortable with who we are, and then going about helping others without expecting anything in return. And so, kindness comes full circle and that’s a wonderful feeling ^^’

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Awwh that is exactly what I was going for Mabel, Kind of descriptive post. To give the sense like everything is playing in front of eyes. Thank you so much for reading I’m so glad I was successful.

      oh please you are an awesome writer yourself, I need to learn from you ! ❤

      And you are so right, Being kind and making the other person feel better gives such an immense joy and feeling of contentment in heart. A wonderful feeling as you said 🙂

      Like

      • Mabel Kwong says:

        I look forward to more descriptive stories from you, and I know they’ll be joys to read. It takes times to write this kind of style 🙂

        Being kind is priceless. It comes from the heart ❤

        Like

  2. Courtney Wright says:

    This was so sweet! Isn’t is amazing how a little one can make us feel better when we least expect it? Kids are so innocent and sweet….it’s too bad we don’t keep that as we grow older. Have an awesome, incredible, magnificent day Zee!!!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Awwh yes, Kids are innocent and carefree. Unconditional love ! You are so right, As we grow up there is so much worries and life gets so complicated we lose what we were as kids. Thank you so so much Courtney, your comment was so uplifting ! ^_^
      Have a great weekend. With Love
      Zee ❤

      Like

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Aah Thank you so much, your comment ‘Touched’ me ! So here it was your ‘act of kindness’ for me ❤

      I have heard about it but I'm sorry I don't know much about it. Is it where you write 100 reasons why you are happy? Would you please like to enlighten me 🙂

      And thank you so much, you were the reason I smiled just now 🙂

      Like

  3. Swoosieque says:

    Beautiful, beautiful story and so true. I absolutely love the quote at the end too.

    Quickly, this reminds me of one day I was walking home from grade school and passing by the old man’s garage, who lived a few houses down from us, I noticed tulips lined up alongside the side of his garage. I thought they were so pretty, so I plucked each and every one of them, so happy, thinking of how happy my mom would be to have beautiful tulips.

    Wrong. Boy did I get a spanking! I didn’t know that people planted flowers to keep their property looking nice. My mother didn’t care about what grew in our yard – it was mostly weeds and dirt.

    When I grew up, I had lots and lots and lots of flower gardens! 🙂

    Like

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Haha I’m so sorry, well at least you had good intention in the heart ! That is what matters 🙂

      Flower gardens add such a beauty and decency to the house and the pleasant smell is very enticing too ! ^.^

      Thank you so so much for reading. I loved the quote too, It gives hope and strength despite of hardships 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Akhiz says:

    i think smile is our most powerful source of acting even the tiniest act of kindness to anyone, we living in south asia don’t smile much (we should), there is no great satisfaction then to be the source of someones happiness, u write beautifully Zee, i especially liked the way you described the park. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Oh and I thought only I observed that, you are so right, we south Asian smile as if it will cost us money to do so…unfortunately !

      It does fill one’s heart with peace and contentment when we are able to help someone in need or even bring a smile to the other’s person face. What a joy it is.

      Thank you Akhiz, I was going for a bit of descriptive kind of essay so I’m glad you enjoyed the description of the park ^.^

      Liked by 1 person

      • trentpmcd says:

        I truly believe most people are good. We tend to see the selfish, the hateful and the violent and miss the kindness, love and tenderness. Little kids are often so self-absorbed that it is remarkable this child could see your sadness. And how easily she fixed it! Do we all hold this power that we can magically make someone feel better through a small act, a kind word or a smile? I don’t know, but I think we all need to try. What can it hurt?

        Like

        • lifeconfusions says:

          Which reminds me of a quote ‘There is some good in the worst of us and some evil in the best of us. When we discover this, we are less prone to hate our enemies.’

          So yeah at the end of the day what matters is we all try. All we can do is try with the best intentions in our heart 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  5. Evolving ruminations says:

    Ever noticed how. as we grow up, we quite often forget to be unconditionally kind to other people? We forget that even one act, no matter how small is enough to make a difference ! I can completely relate to your article – I’d recently been of the receiving act of the gesture and blogged about it myself.. I guess we can agree the ball is in our court and its our turn to serve !!

    Like

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Absolutely !! Even a smile to a passerby, children or older folks is an act of kindness. It fills one heart with such joy and happiness !
      All of us need to self-reflect a bit as we grow up, Try to be more kinder and nicer to others. You are right it’s our turn to serve 🙂

      Like

    • lifeconfusions says:

      I actually thought that too Rob, so I searched and found out it IS actually a day. Which was very recently started to celebrate, from 2005. It’s on September 1.
      too bad it had already passed and we didn’t even know about it 😦
      I guess every day should be taken as this day with at least one random act of kindness 🙂

      Like

  6. trablog says:

    My favourite subject. I love Random acts of Kindness. You gave an amazing picture of the park through your words. I can see the things happening, the little girl and the whole thing. Lovely story 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

