Dear Friend (Building Walls)

Why did I even cry for you
When I had been repeatedly being lied to…
By you…

I’m so stupid,
So so stupid
To ever think we could last
When a part of me always knew
You and I…are over
A little too soon…
But hopefully for good.

This is me giving it a closure
To a friendship of 7 years
I tried my best to hold on
But now its time to let go
Goodbye my old friend,
You were once my best friend
A part of me will always love you
Cling on to the memories of I and you
Memories is the only thing that lasted
Everything crashed around us,
Including the promises we made…
Of sticking together always.

I’m sorry old friend, I was holding on
But now I’m letting go.
Not that you care,
Nor that it effects you
It’s for me, for once…
This burden has to go
I forgive you
Its forgetting that is hard though.
I’ll try my best..
After all, these walls I’m building;
They have to come handy once in a while or so…

42 thoughts on “Dear Friend (Building Walls)

  1. Tony Single says:

    This is a bit too raw for me to comment on right now, except to say that I admire what you’ve done. It takes guts to conduct an autopsy of this kind (no pun intended). Hits me right where I live.

    Like

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Oh I’m sorry Tony if I made you feel worse. and I’m sorry that you are going through the same thing. We can only hope that it’s for our own best interest and we will come out much better at the end of the day…Thanks for reading and leaving a comment despite of the fact that it was hard, You have no idea how much I appreciate it ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ivyon says:

    This happens all the time… We grow and as we grow we grow apart… It would be extremely rare to have the same best friends from kindergarten.

    I have “overgrown” my friends many times, most of them easy and not painful… We just slowly stopped sharing the same interests, getting together, calling each other… It was almost like a natural process… Something was always missing.

    Last time I grew apart from my oldest friend and that was not so easy, it wasn’t easy at all. It was very hard. We were best friends for seven years, knew each other for 15 years… I was so scared, I remember telling my other friend; “I will have nobody. I will have no friends.” That is how it felt. She said then, you’ll have me, and that made it easier.
    We were making plans like, we would be old and with grandchildren and laughing about all the stupid things we did… But it ended up in a fight that wasn’t really a fight, just a temper reaction from her side and a note “Don’t call me back, ever.” And a tired me on the other side, going through a health and emotional roller coaster and the toughest time in my life and I just had it. I read the message, cried a river and never called her back.

    That was 4 years ago. Do I still think about our friendship? Of course I do… But now, I have met people with whom I don’t feel like something is missing, who get me without me having to explain myself all the time, who don’t do drama and who are more on my level of understanding. She was in too deep, i couldn’t get her AND myself out. I just couldn’t.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifeconfusions says:

      You are very right Garima, I do forgive (as I mentioned in the poem too) it’s forgetting that is hard. Until we forget the peace is hard to come. But I’ll try. Thank you so much for reading and leaving your kindness with me ❤

      Like

  3. Green Embers says:

    I agree with the others, this is sad. Growing older is kind of annoying as you drift apart from friends. Life goes on, the Sun rises but it never feels the same. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

    Like

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Yes Brad, you put it exactly how I feel. Childhood to me was like oblivion, as we grow old we become more and more aware of things around us and it’s that much complicated *sigh* as you said “it never feels the same”

      Thank YOU for reading ❤

      Like

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

