Will The Real Slim Shady Please Stand Up?!

Daily Prompt:

What sort of music was played in your house when you were growing up? What effect, (if any) did it have on your musical tastes?

_____________________________________________

F6DFtM4

I’ve mentioned this in one of my previous post that growing up my musical influence was a little different from what you’d normally think. I’ve an older bother who used to listen to a lot of rap..which obviously and most definitely includes Eminem a.k.a Slim Shady a.k.a Marshall Mathers.

I’ve two much older brothers with me being their only and younger sister. I’ve always been closer to my oldest brother ‘M’. I was always around him, although he was 12 years older than me but we got around good with each other, watching Hollywood movies together, wrestling (which was mostly, Always one-sided, with him throwing me like Batista on the bed and Ankle Locking me like Kurt Angle (Wrestling fans, Anyone?) and me tapping in defeat or my mom coming to my rescue ) but most importantly listening to music together. I was too young to have my own music taste so I took his. ‘M’ had all the old and new CD’s of Eminem, different posters and even had his song’s lyrics printed out.

So in short I grew up listening to Eminem. The very first song I remember listening to in my childhood was Halie’s Song and Mockingbird by Eminem. Mockingbird is still one of my favorites of all time.

Even though his songs had a lot of swearing, surprisingly I never got accustomed to it. Although I became aware of all “those” words in early age.

I won’t say I liked rap music but it was all I had at that point. But as I got more aware I started listening to all the teenage stuff which was famous then, “High School Musical” being one of them.

So all in all, my musical journey was a little upside down, starting from Eminem to High School Musical rather than the other way around.

So yeah in a nut shell:
EMINEM-eminem-29355623-500-328

 

37 thoughts on “Will The Real Slim Shady Please Stand Up?!

  1. Pingback: B.Kaotic
    • lifeconfusions says:

      Yes, It is one of the reasons why my music taste evolved a lot. Because I was over the rap and teenage stuff lot earlier in my life so I had a lot more time to explore new genre’s and develop different tastes for music.

      Like

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

