Shouldn’t Have Said That….

Daily Prompt:

It happens: sometimes that filter in our head bursts and we say too much of what we’re thinking and someone gets hurt. Tell us about a time you or someone you know said something that they immediately regretted.
______________________________

One time we took our guests on dinner in a hotel. My whole family and my aunt’s family, We were all sitting around the table. The waiter came with the menu. All of us started to discuss what we wanted to order. My mum said that this hotel’s Chicken Tikka is really good, we should order one. I don’t know what came over me, without filtering what I was about to say, I said “But its too expensive. We should not order that”

Awwwww-kkkkk-wwaarrrddddd !

For a moment everybody halted what they were doing contemplating what I just said, Our guests shifted uncomfortably in their seats. My mom glaring me, her eyes blazing with an invisible laser which cut me in half.

I realized what I had said….Shiiitttttt….!

If any of you think its not that bad, well it was for me! Just imagine you taking your guests on dinner and one of you fully grown teenage child saying something like that. How embarrassing…For both my parents and more importantly ME!

You can totally expect this from small cute children, they get away with such things but Me? I was supposed to be the mature one.

All this time I spent getting my reputation right in front of my relatives. It was shattered in one moment of discretion and any one who has a big family knows how hard it is to get things right in the eyes of your relatives. Hah. Everything I had worked for since I was in diapers was turned to dust !

Anyways nobody said anything to me but they didn’t have to, As I imagined everything they must have been thinking. They continued their conversation while I was getting hot red in my seat with embarrassment. My ears and cheek turning pink. Great ! More embarrassment !

Well that was quiet a time of shame. Ah, Poor me !

19 thoughts on “Shouldn’t Have Said That….

  1. smilempsn says:

    ..hehe.. that was off course an embarrassed moment.. But I am sure, now you too laugh about it..
    Sometimes, all we do is to show ‘The Society’ how ‘Perfectionist’ we are. And it’s not just us, everyone does that 😉

    Like

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Aah, yes that was quiet an experience. And perfection is too overrated by society. I wrote a post related to this few days ago ‘A Matter Of Perspective’. Give it a read if you’d like 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: The Wandering Poet

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

