I Broke The Projector…SSShhh Don’t Tell Anyone!

Daily Prompt: Let’s Go Crazy

Sometimes, we act on impulse: What’s the most crazy, outrageously impulsive thing you’ve ever done? 

_______________________

Well for this I don’t need to think very far. I’d been meaning to confess  write about my this little, okay not that little, adventure for quite a while now and today I’ve got my chance at last. Before I start I need to make something clear, I’m not PROUD of what I did but lets just admit it was IMPRESSIVE how we never got caught. You’ll know what I’m talking about in a while.

story

Okay so on one fateful day, my friends decided to study in the break. We usually goof around whenever we have time but our exams were near so they decided to study instead. Now the question was where to study. Library? No, Too many people there, they needed to combine study and they couldn’t sit still for a second. Outside? Too much distraction so they ditched that as well and decided to study in an empty class room. (Which was our lecture hall in the previous semester)

Notice how I wrote THEY and not WE ? It is because I was not in the favor of studying together in the first place. I knew that we were not made to study together. It just isn’t possible with such loud personalities of almost everyone in our group. So I told them to go off without me. For a while I sat alone, doing nothing but then I though; ‘what the hell, better go and check them out at least, maybe they are actually studying for a change.’ So I went in and as I suspected of course they were NOT studying !

I sat with them, talking and laughing about some random stuff. We were sitting on the plastic arm chairs, I don’t know how or why but one of my friends started to draw me on the arm rest with a board marker as a joke.

That's me 'Ziffi'

That’s me ‘Ziffi’

So I drew her as a protest:
mona

Then I drew my other friend sitting with us, who got caught in the crossfire:
shafakThings escalated quickly and we ended up drawing everyone who was present in the room at that time:
all
(You must be wondering how this is connected to me breaking the projector screen and never getting caught? Let me tell you this has a HUGE role which you’ll know in a while.)

So after drawing each other, we got up on the stage where lectures are given on the board and projector screen. The projector screen was rolled up and just a thread was hanging from it so it can be pulled down whenever needed.(One thing I need to clarify is that our projector screens are not the ones which are put on stand and are of small size, actually they are suspended from the wall with a heavy bar and are quite big in size.)  One of my friends dared me to get the screen down:
Output file
The projector was suspended about 13-15 feet high on the wall, I tried to pull the thread down to open the screen but as it was quite high I could only reach up to touch the thread but wasn’t able to get a hold of it and get it down. My other friends decided to join me. Now this was a matter of pride. We HAD to get the screen down. In our fail attempts, me and my other friends tried to perk up another friend on our shoulders to get a hold of thread but she was too heavy for us to keep her up, she nearly fell on the cement floor but we caught her just in time.

Something like this.

Something like this.

Caught in the moment of emotion and frustration one of my friend even tried to use the power of her shoe to get it down. But Alas we weren’t successful. My friend ‘M’ was pretty tall so we asked her to get it down for us which we were refusing to do so before. One should know when to accept defeat….but not me. No No, I wanted to take revenge on that screen for not letting me get it down.
I decided to push the thread to make it roll upwards again. Before I pulled on the thread my friend M said: Be careful, it may fall down. I was like ‘Stop with your black tongue’ to which she replied: ‘No seriously when I was pulling the thread down to open the screen it felt a little loose and was shaking’

But I was gone too far on my spree to revenge that I didn’t care, I didn’t really though that what she said could actually happen. So I gave a tug to the thread and Whooooooossshh, up it went. It struck its bar to which it was attached: Thhhhhaaaaasssshhhhhhh

As soon as it went up and struck the heavy bar, the bar came off the wall and came crashing down 13 feet along with everything : BBBaaannnngggg Bbbbboooommm Baaaaaaangg.

I still remember those three sounds it made as it fell on the cemented stage. It was like a loud car crash or sound that comes from steel making factories. It was bound to be heard by everyone in the university!

For a moment we all froze, right where we were standing. And then realizing what happened we ran with a speed of lightning. We dashed picking up our books from the chairs and skiting out of the room with thumping hearts and almost falling on each other.

We reached the corridor, which we found empty, luckily. As there were only two ways of being in that corridor, either from the library (which was locked at that time) and the lecture hall from where we were appearing. If someone saw us in the corridor at that time we’d be doomed.

We took a sigh of relief and started to make our way out when one of us suddenly remembered the pictures we drew of all of us on the arm rest….Shit !!! And here is how those pictures were of great value. It was VERY important to remove any kind of evidence that pointed to our presence there., As that lecture hall was closed usually and no one would go there in usual circumstances. If they found our pictures drawn on the chairs, it would certainly mean that we were there at some point in time. And it wouldn’t take them long to connect the dots and put the pieces together and us ending up suspended or worst paying up for that already shitty projector which used to turn off after every 15 minutes due to over heating. What? Really? Yes !

So one of our friends was chosen to clean up the evidence. She ran to the lecture hall  and cleaned off the pictures as we waited for her in the corridor . This mission was successful. Then there was the important task of getting out of there unnoticed. The sound which came off as projector hit the ground was too loud to ignore, Someone specially one of our classmates were bound to inquire about it soon enough even though it was on the ground floor. I told all of us not to leave together because that would be suspicious. I had seen enough of ‘Criminal Minds’ to cover up my tracks !  So we left in the number of two. Careful of anyone eying us. And then dashed up the stairs , out in the ground !

Later we asked various students if they had heard any kind of sound, they said No. Thankfully it was our last day in university before our preparatory week holidays for exams. We went home, never to hear of this incident again from anyone ever again…

Yessss!!!

Yessss!!!

24 thoughts on “I Broke The Projector…SSShhh Don’t Tell Anyone!

  1. Pingback: Gone Sailing
  2. andy1076 says:

    Roflmao!! I can’t stop laughing sorry! XD oh man you girls are too much! the Image of all of you ducking your heads out to the hallway to check is hilarious 😉 ah.. memories forever eh?

    Like

  3. Divya says:

    Aww those college days.It’s good that you guys weren’t caught.I and my classmates broke a window once, luckily no one was hurt and no one knew about it. phew !

    I like your writing style, It felt like I was there with you guys. 🙂

    Like

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Ah, yes I’m having the time of my life in university. Although I’m surprised to this day how no one heard the sound, Believe me it was deafening !

      And well you never got caught either? we can be partners in crime then ! 😀

      Thank you so much for liking it. I’m so happy 🙂

      Like

  4. Green Embers says:

    Ahahahaha, you’re so mischievous. 😀 I guess if I were to pick a moral from your story, never try to get revenge on an inanimate object, it will have the last laugh. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Like

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

