A Matter Of Perspective

Perspective…Google says that it is “a particular attitude toward or way of regarding something; a point of view.”

For most of us what others think of us or talk about us is the perspective that matters. I used to believe the same but as of today I beg to differ. I was watching this drama and I liked the perspective with which it approached the concept of rumors and gossips.

We live in a society where “what would people say if…..” ย has killed more dreams than I can count. We are so worried about our perspective in everybody else’s eyes that along the way we may have started to lose ourselves and not even know it.

There is this pressure to be Perfect. If not perfect than at least close to be one. Worst thing about it is not the pressure of being perfect, ย there is nothing wrong with pursuing perfection , the worst and the most saddest part is the pressure to be perfect in front of people. How we present ourselves in front of others is all what matters, doesn’t matter how and what we are alone or what demons we hide inside of ourselves. The sadness , the despair , the hopelessness.

I see myself and what I am from inside doesn’t reflect of what I am outside. Not absolutely or completely but to some extent, it is true.

Then there is GOSSIPS & RUMORS….I feel like our whole entire existence revolves around it now. The magazines, the newspapers , the Internet , 75% of it is filled with rumors and gossips. How much of it do you think is actually based on facts?

Studying in a universityย I, myself am guilty as charged of gossiping and believing in rumors. I’m sorry to admit but it was one of our favorite things to do. I enjoyed hearing about other people flings and affairs, personal drama and even religious beliefs. How much of it was based around facts, I can’t be absolutely sure. (Surprisingly most of stuff ‘I’ heard did turn out to be true but that doesn’t change the fact that I was involved in gossiping about other people behind their back)

What I can’t understand though is why are we, me , so interested in other people lives??? What they are doing, what they are wearing, who they are dating, who they are fighting with etc etc. I fail to understand this. We have this need to know all that stuff about other people but I don’t know why.

The only explanation I can come up with is that maybe we try to be so involved in other people’s lives because we are fed up with our own. We need an escape from our own lives at times and the best way to ignore our life problems is to plunge ourselves into other people problems. Thinking and talking about other people gives us a chance to keep ourselves from peeking into our own collars. What do you think? I may not entirely be right but that’s the only SANE explanation I’m able to come up with.

The reason why I took the route to gossips and rumors is that we ourselves are at times subject of a particular rumor or gossip and why do we care so much what people think of us?

Why only what we think of ourselves is not enough?

You know the truth, I know the truth. Screw other people. But the problem is Its easier said than done.

Though you and I, we can take this one step at a time, first by being comfortable in our own skin. As long as you think that you are a good person , as long as you are comfortable in wearing what you like, as long as you believe you are doing the right thing, as long as you are strong enough to handle it and as long as people or the person you love see you for who you really are. That is all what matters, Doesn’t it?

“EVERYTHING ELSE……IS JUST NOISE.”

(Inspired by an episode of The Carrie Diaries.)

26 thoughts on “A Matter Of Perspective

  1. PsiFiGal says:

    Great post. It’s hard to not care what others think of you, and it’s hard not to make judgements of others. It’s kind of sad but it’s also a fact of life. You know the saying “You can’t judge a book by it’s cover”? Well, I heard it explained in a way that made sense to me on a show called “What Not to Wear”. People do make snap judgements about you based just on what you’re wearing, so if you want people to listen to what you have to say, or want to make a good first impression (like for a job interview), you should take care to dress well, not to go out in frumpy sweats etc. even if it’s just a quick trip to the store, you never know who you might run into. I’m an example of what not to wear, I usually wear jeans and t-shirts and hoodies when I go out, dressing up only for special occasions. Thing is, I rarely leave the house so it’s not a big part of my life right now.

    Like

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Oh my God, I don’t know how I missed your comment. Sorry.I just saw it luckily !
      you are very right in saying that its hard not to judge others and I agree with it, its a human nature to judge but to make opinion based on that judgment is just wrong. I think we have to learn to give the other person a benefit of doubt. That is all I ask. Give others a second chance.
      Thank you for taking time to comment and sorry again for late reply.

      Like

      • PsiFiGal says:

        Not a problem, don’t worry about responding to any of my comments, I’m happy if you do but am not hurt if you don’t ๐Ÿ™‚
        I know, I try not to make judgments on a first impression. My sister says I’m too forgiving of bad movies, I will watch one for quite some time before deciding that it’s just too bad to keep watching-hehehe

        Like

        • lifeconfusions says:

          Hahaha, Well you do learn your lesson in the end, better late than never I guess ! ๐Ÿ˜›

          And you know, Its MY pleasure to talk to you, Its always nice to have a little chat with you ๐Ÿ™‚
          Hope you are doing good. Love, Zee ๐Ÿ™‚

          Like

    • lifeconfusions says:

      First of all can I say I was just thinking about you. Okay not in a creepy way, Don’t you worry. I have your blog opened up in one of my tabs and I was about to read it and here you are!
      Thank you for being such a good wordpress friend and your thoughtful comments ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. andy1076 says:

    That’s the thing about society, Either people are judging others so that they can raise themselves or they envy so much that it becomes the only goal in their life, It’s nuts! welcome back ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

