Scared-Phobia


Image

I still remember to this day, The trigger of my phobia. I’ve heard it is very unusual for people to remember their trigger. They usually suppress the memories. But I remember it as clear as a day.

It was about 10 years ago, I was in Karachi (Largest city of Pakistan) to meet some relatives,  we had just arrived there and on our way from train station to their house.  My Aunt came to pick us up and I was sitting in the car in the back seat with my mom. We came across a U-turn and my aunt told my mom that a man was killed right there. She went about telling the whole story of the murder(which I don’t remember clearly) as I listened to it.

That was the day after which I started to get scared. Really scared. I was scared of being alone in the dark. Afraid that something or someone will get to me. Kill me. I don’t know what this phobia is called medically to this day. But all i know is, it wasn’t just a normal fear. I was paranoid !
Image

I was scared of everything that moved in the dark. I always thought there was something lurking in the dark waiting for me to close my eyes and it’ll jump out and grab me.
Image

And the worst part was it wasn’t only when I was alone, even if somebody was sleeping with me I would always feel a presence with me. I would still be as much scared.

I guess I can say that I was actually scared that somebody was gonna kill me.
Image

I can’t count the sleepless nights I spent rolling in the bed. I was scared even to roll to my side as I was sure something will attack me if my back is to it. So I always laid on my back, face facing upward and trying to look side to side with my two eyes (although at that time I wished I had four eyes so I could look everywhere).

For more than 10 years,  I had to endure this fear. It was really hard for me to cope with it. I still remember the fear and the darkness I felt lying on my little bed. Wanting to sleep so bad but wasn’t able to.
Everything in the dark was my enemy and I had to fight a really hard battle.

I was afraid to watch any horror movie or drama or anything like that.
Image

I don’t know why but with time that fear started to subside. I started to become less and less conscious about it as I got more involved and busy with my studies.
I was afraid to watch horror movies as I mentioned before, but when I saw it once, I found out I wasn’t that scared of them anymore.

Image
I was searching for a reason, Why do we fear? I came across this answer:

Most fears are nothing but movements of thoughts. A thought is a language that we give for words, pictures and feelings. Put in a different way, a thought is just a movement of word, picture and feeling… You interpret a thought in your mind in a language that you are afraid, and you experience fear.

Image

As I thought more and more about it and tried to find my answer I realized why that phobia faded away.

My phobia started when I was very little, maybe 8-10 years old, usually kids of that age don’t have much to do. Studies are not that hard and there isn’t any other personal life problem, you are just so in over yourself. All you do all day is THINK!

Think about stuff…any stuff…and considering above explanation of Why do we fear, my over-imaginative mind started to imagine uncontrollably. I was little, I had nothing really to do then but as I grew up , got busy with my studies and other life problems, my mind didn’t had any space left to think about the fear too. So as I got busier and busier, the fear started to fade away.

It doesn’t mean its completely gone, its there somewhere. It takes over sometimes. But its normal, I think everybody gets scared once in a while so I’m not that worried about it anymore.

Everybody has some kind of fear. It can be a fear of being alone, fear of some animal, fear of losing someone. Admit it, EVERYBODY has fear of something but the key is not to let it rule you. You have to learn to overcome it,find the root cause of the problem and then take one step at a time.
You’ll get there one day. As i have. I’m sure!
Image
(Image credit: Google)

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/10/10/daily-prompt-frightening/

17 thoughts on “Scared-Phobia

  1. bert0001 says:

    Mind when nothing to do comes up with thoughts, kind of a statement, I’m here, I still exist cause I hear myself. The nature of these thoughts is ‘random’ fabrications, stories around the stories we heard in our past. When mind is running in circles, it amplifies anything and comes to a conclusion based on its own inventions. Whetehr this conclusion induces fear, envy, jealousy, pride or happiness, depends entirely on the ‘random’ (but in fact not so random once it has chosen directions) thoughts …

    Like

  2. girlychristina says:

    Hi my friend! Thank you for this honest post about your phobia and fears in life. It is a scary challenge to want to confront your fear and phobia and I admire this in you!! I wanted to let you know your writing has inspired me to remain honest in my blog posts, and that is why I nominated your blog for The Versatile Blogger Award! =) Congrats! You truly deserve this!! =)
    ❤ Christina. Check it out!
    http://lifebeinggirly.com/2013/10/10/gushing-with-glee/

    Like

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Thank youuu Christina 🙂
      Your comments and support is always very dear to me, I appreciate it very much.

      I’ll get to this award soon enough, just a little busy with my studies right now. Thank youuu so much again! ❤

      Like

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

