Immensity

995166_578662265539530_1282490490_n
There was something about this image that immediately caught my eye. I’ve seen many photographs and images in my life; none of them made me stop in my tracks and give them a thought but for some reason this intrigued me too much to dismiss it like just another image. I think it is one of my most favorite images of all time.

I don’t think  many would agree with me on this, after all there is nothing much in the picture. Just an endless ocean and a guy falling into its immensity.

But somehow i found this very interesting, When i first saw it, I kept staring at it for a whole 4 or 5 minutes. It made me think of life.

In a way all of us are like this guy and the ocean represents our life really well. How, you ask?

Just like an ocean, our lives are so vast and wide beyond our imagination. There is a uncertainty to our lives like an ocean.
Ocean is anything but certain. You can never know how deep it is. You can never know what is lurking beneath it. It is immense just like our lives.

We can’t be sure of our future, Just like with ocean we can never know what will come next ; Which wave will crash on to us and push us into the embrace of dark ocean waiting to devour its victims.

And we all are just like that guy, falling , falling , falling into the immensity of our lives without a clue about what our future holds for us. We are clueless.

But we don’t have a choice in this matter.  We all one day fall into the immensity and uncertainty of life. From the day we are born till the day we die (even after death we can’t know for sure what’s next ).

Eventually we all learn to swim in the vast and unending ocean of life. Some are better at it, some swim enough just to stay afloat while some lose the battle and sink.

29 thoughts on “Immensity

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Hey, thank you.
      Its ok, there is a LIKE button just after the post ends.
      Several other bloggers have liked it as well.
      If you’d be kind, please give it a visit one more time and look closely, you’ll be able to see it 🙂

      If you are still encountering the problem please let me know.Thank you 🙂

      Like

  1. HK says:

    I totally agree with you. This picture speaks volumes. You hit on some really interesting and thought-provoking things in your post. Three things were most striking: first, the physicality of it– the water is large in volume, wet, and deep, and the body sinks, floats, or swims. Second, there’s a space-time thing. We can’t see beyond the frame of the photo, so it feels like the person in the water could either sink or swim for eternity. Third, the void. All we see is matter, but when I look at this, my mind is telling the story of a person falling into a void. Trippy!

    Like

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Yes exactly, I’m glad that you are able to relate with it and agree with my thoughts on it. This image is indeed very deep in its meaning, at least to me, and it seems you feel the same way about it.
      Thank you so much for taking time to read it and share your thoughts on it.
      And Thank you for the follow as well. I really appreciate you support 🙂

      Like

  2. kukolina says:

    I have to say my life is not like this at all. You said we learn to swim so why is this guy on the image not swimming? Why? Because he is falling. You pointed this out as well. Well my life is not about falling, falling and falling…
    Despite of what I think about the symbol of life, this is an interesting picture that provokes depressive projection. 😛

    Like

    • lifeconfusions says:

      This guy falling depicts falling into uncertainty. Which is just the first phase of life through which everybody goes through. After that he may pop right back up.
      That is why he is not swimming YET. It’s upto us how we handle that uncertainty. Some of us handle it well by swimming, some just stay afloat and some sink.
      It’s all just a matter of perspective. You see it as depressive projection and I don’t
      I think it represents the first phase of life (by which i mean uncertainty) very well. How we come out of it is the second part which is not depicted in the picture.

      Like

  3. studiolightblue says:

    What a great image…truly a stop-in-your-tracks-take-another-look-and-then-contemplate kind of image – no doubt. Love the simplicity – it’s very powerful. And thanks for stopping by my blog and re-posting here – really appreciate it!

    Like

  4. charlypriest says:

    The photo I too had to stare at it for some time before realising what it was. I like how out of this photo you made such a powerful writing-philosophy of life. I agree. I will add though the guy falling in the picture forgot to pick some floating device. in life we can learn some tools and have them out our disposal to deal with the uncertain. Not that it guarantees anything but you have a better chance to come out in much better shape.
    Stay Frosty.

    Like

    • lifeconfusions says:

      Yes of course, you are right! we can and should prepare ourselves for the uncertainty in life. It may not solve the problem but it can help us stay afloat at least.

      And thank you so much for your support 🙂

      Like

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

