Singing my heart out?or atleast trying!

Sing-singing-430336_380_380
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/22/daily-prompt-talent/
Daily Prompt: Practice Makes Perfect?

Tell us about a talent you’d love to have… but don’t.

Oh boy , where do i start ?
There are so many things that i wish i was good at…but i am not !

One of  those things is Singing !
i wish i could sing and not just have a pretty voice but being able to hit high notes like Whitney Houston in “I Will Always Love You” or Celion Dion in “My Heart Will Go On” or Christina Aguliera in “Life Me Up” . But alas i can’t.

When i try to go high, as my best friend would say, its like a wailing of a cat who just got stepped on its tail or a crow which is stuck in a tree by its one foot crying for help.And the saddest thing about it is , its not ONLY when i try to hit high notes. It happens almost every time i open my mouth to sing.

Its funny how i won a singing competition when i was little? It makes me question the hearing ability of the judges that day. Or are my friends today are deaf that they can’t hear my beautiful voice?
But lets admit it there were not many people that i had to compete with in the first place and i was the youngest one in the competition,maybe 9 or 10 years old at that time.

Putting the puzzle pieces together today, i think my cuteness and confidence clouded the judges decision. I don’t know how well i sang, all i know is others didn’t sing very well either !
Its good to know i wasn’t worst of the worst. Maybe i didn’t sing that well but, apparently considering judges decision,may i dare say ‘sang better than them’ or maybe didn’t sing as bad as them so i won. I came first and still remember the little lunch box i got as a gift\reward for winning.

But it doesn’t change the fact that i can’t really sing or at least thats what people tell me. I guess there’s no way of knowing except if i go to audition for American Idol and get absolutely humiliated by the judges. (Thanks God Simon Cowell is not a judge anymore or he might make those huge security guys  throw me out of the building.)

Or i might go audition for The Voice. Its a good thing judges can’t see the face of the contender in Blind Auditions because it might give me a chance to run out of there before the judges chairs turn.(Thanks Lord for that too ! )

Considering its not really possible for me to do all that i mentioned above, i retort to just singing in my room and specifically in bathroom. (waiting for a music producer to contact me).

22 thoughts on “Singing my heart out?or atleast trying!

  1. saadia peerzada says:

    hehehee
    That post made me laugh esp this:
    ‘When i try to go high, as my best friend would say, its like a wailing of a cat who just got stepped on its tail or a crow which is stuck in a tree by its one foot crying for help.’ Lol
    Anyways, ain’t much of a singer either 😦
    One of my very good friends is a singer and she can sing ‘Titanium’ better than the Sia herself . I envy her!!!!
    So we are on the same team. High -five 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nerdy Woman says:

    I’m right there with you. In college, I actually took a voice class to try to improve. Some of the techniques helped. At least, I don’t think I’m off key as often as I once was.

    You do have a talent for writing well, for telling a story. Thank you for sharing this.

    Like

A chocolate bar for your thoughts?!

